Day two in Daytona Beach


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Daytona Beach
November 21st 2009
Published: November 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Picked up the rental car today. Got loaded up with supplies. MOney MOney MOre MOney. Changed the oil, washed the boat. Took the car and went to the ocean which is over a bridge. I never lost nothing in Daytona Beach. I thought it was a hot place to be because it used to be the place to go for spring break, but ther is nothing there. A few little pockets of what may be nice places and one Hilton but the rest is vagrant looking stuff. Run down no cars in the hotels. Rooms for $30. We bailed out and went to a small chinese food store that had good food but we were the only ones eating there except this derilect looking guy that would not stop talking to us about how he would run a restaurant. Then we went to a Food Lion and got Ben and Jerry's Cherry Garcia ice cream and milk and bananas and ate milk shakes on the boat.

Tomorrow I'll be solo again. Looks like thunderstorms coming in on Sun too. So don't know if I'll get to Vero for Thankgivng or not. May be just sitting at anchor waiting for storms to pass. Poor Don.

In the distance is a Kareoke bar with people really singing out of tune.

This morning twice I ran into a couple walking. He was a cool looking black dude with gold teeth and lots of rings and an elvis looking sweatsuit. The problem is he was preaching and telling me about god and telling me to not cheat on my wife anymore and not to let that serpent out of the garden anymore. But he still loved me. Daytona Beach!!

Did anyone notice the pictures I added to the first entries or did I already ask that?

Advertisement



21st November 2009

photos
I just went back to see your photos -they are telling your story - it's interesting to see what's around you in photos as well as words. Wish you had a photo of black elvis! Great photo of you leaving port. I love the Ukrops grocery bag in the background of the elaborate dinner on board with your brother. The other photo I like is the one with a bike instead of a dingy on the back of the little sail boat.

Tot: 0.307s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0648s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb