2009 - one busy year!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Dania Beach
February 12th 2010
Published: April 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Welcome to my 2009 update, just a bit late - but it has been a busy busy year!

2009 was interesting year, full of hard work, a few surprises and more hard work. For a large part of the year I worked multiple jobs while attending graduate school for Marine Biology. Luckily amongst the chaos, I got married and had my wonderful husband Oscar to support me and keep me from completely losing my mind. Even though most of the year was spent behind a desk or with my face in a book, I still was able to continue teaching diving and even squeezed in a research trip to the Bat Islands back in Costa Rica! We camped on an island and dove all day... does it get any better than that!

I was fortunate to get a job with the International Game Fish Association and work at a non-profit involving fish! Oscar runs a local dive shop and we have a great group that we often dive with. I am still working hard on my goal of continuing my work in Costa Rica and even though it is a long and slow process, I know that in the future I will be doing my own research there. I guess it just doesn't happen overnight and that was probably the hardest to adjust too. I really miss being in the field but I know that in the future being in the field with a PhD and loads of knowledge is more important.

So, there is my 2009 in a nutshell... enjoy the pics (there's a lot of them this time).



Additional photos below
Photos: 54, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Fishing Hall of FameFishing Hall of Fame
Fishing Hall of Fame

International Game Fish Association - where I work.
IGFAIGFA
IGFA

Inside the museum where I work.
TriMiami May 3 09TriMiami May 3 09
TriMiami May 3 09

Moments before the start of the Olympic Triathlon (A race that involved a 1 mile swim followed by a 25 mile bike and ending with a 6 mile run - and I completed it non stop)
TriMiami May 3 09 TriMiami May 3 09
TriMiami May 3 09

Start of the triathlon. I personally raised about $2,000 for local patients and research efforts for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Soicety (blood cancers). My team as a whole raised $125,783!
TriMiami May 3 09 TriMiami May 3 09
TriMiami May 3 09

in transition from the swim to the bike... only 24 miles ahead of me (oh yeah, and that 6 mile run at the end)
Coastal Marine Diving SuppliesCoastal Marine Diving Supplies
Coastal Marine Diving Supplies

(the manager of this shop is very good looking)


2nd April 2010

Gracias por compartirme las fotos y las experiencias!!!! espero que este 2010 traiga muchas oportunidades nuevas llenas de éxitos. Saludos y abrazos desde la linda Costa Rica
2nd April 2010

Accomplishments!
Looks like you didn't let one day go to waste! Busy, busy! Enjoyed your pictures of your travels during 2009, and hubby!

Tot: 0.418s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb