Travel with Snowbirds Valentine’s Day, Thousand Trails Orlando, Clermont FL


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Clermont
February 14th 2013
Published: February 15th 2013
Edit Blog Post

The one about the ants going bye bye

I goofed yesterday. I posted the wonderful picture of Ginnie with her Campers Love Happy Hour T shirt, and didn’t give Kathy credit for it. Sorry, Kathy. Thanks for sharing it with us.

It started to rain last night and rained off and on all day. Bummer. The weather has been beautiful since I started my trip this year. This area has been in a drought for years. I can’t begrudge them some rain; but I hope it stops tomorrow. The temperature has dropped as well. It was 86 yesterday, although Kathy said she saw 93 on her thermometer. It didn’t get to 70 today, and it’s supposed to go down to 39 Saturday night. Brrrrrr.

I continued to do putzy things around Moya today. I put out more stuff left over from the Class C to sell; I reorganized the last of the closets I stuffed at purchase, and I squeegeed the windshield. Winston got a lot of walks, between the rain drops. I love listening to the rain on the roof, and was happy to note there are no leaks.

I thought yesterday that there weren’t many visible ants. I only saw one all day long. I looked in the cabinets again, and there were none. There were none making trails up and down Moya’s exterior. There were none near the sink. BUT, yesterday, somehow, Winston’s rawhide bone ended up outside. When I brought it in, it was covered with dirt. I washed it off and left it in the sink drainer to dry. That was a mistake. This morning I threw it into his basket of toys. He immediately took it out and started chewing on it on one of my throw rugs. 100s of ants came out of it. I threw it outside, then saw them on the rug, and threw that outside as well. Then I noticed some on the floor in the basket he had taken the bone from. Yuck. I guess I haven’t gotten rid of them, but they sure are not in the food areas any more. I am diligent about spraying with my borax water and wiping down the cabinets pretty much daily. It is time for these things to be gone!! I have about 10 ant traps spread around the kitchen, and borax tainted peanut butter in the food cabinets. Out! Out! Damn ants!!!

Stuffed chicken dinner (mashed, corn, gravy, rolls, red velvet cupcake) in the Rec Hall for Valentine’s day tonight, $8. The Rec hall was set up for dinner, and cutely decorated with hearts everywhere. An old nostalgia music DJ played music, and we had a good time singing with the oldies. I even joined in the dancing with the Electric Slide!!! People watching was fun, Ginnie pointed out some people she thought might have been married since high school, as they danced with arms around each other just like we did back then. There were many couples who looked like they had been dancing together for 40+ years, it was cute to watch.

Kathy drove me home just in time to walk Winston and watch the new ABC Series, Zero Hour. I’ll go back for the second episode.

Kathy did some research on Air Boat rides; weather permitting we will attempt to do that tomorrow.

Kat out.

Advertisement



Tot: 3.496s; Tpl: 1.938s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.3654s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1003.2kb