An early start


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Chipley
January 20th 2011
Published: January 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday we crossed the time line, and we were spending the night only a mile or two from the time line. One moment the cell phone showed central time and the next it would show eastern. Well Bob got confused and woke up 4:00 am central thinking it was 5:00 am. At what he thought was 6:00 ( but really 5:00 am) he knocked on our door thinking we had over slept. We were able to get this sorted and we were off. It was extremely foggy. We rode the two miles back to the trail and stopped at a quick stop for a nice breakfast where we waited for the fog to lift. Once it was no longer foggy we were on the road again. At lunch Bob, Mary & Sam wanted to eat at McDonalds. I am not a fan and I saw a nice chinese place and ate there. When I pulled up by the door to park my bike several of the workers came up to the window and checked out my rig. After lunch we had a flat section of road that was nice. I was able to maintain 11mph steady. When we arrived to the motel I noticed Bob's back tire was flat again. It seams the boot or something caused several small holes. This time he put a dollar bill in in place of the boot, an old bikers trick. We walked to the restaurant for supper. I had seafood again. I know when I go home all I have to look forward to is Long John Silvers, oh joy😞 Our motel is next to the local Wal-mart so Bob, Mary and I went to get a few things, Sam fades out around 6:30. On the way over Bob said his tire was flat for the third time. He later told me the dollar had a split and it cut the tube. He then put the boot and a dollar and powder and a tube patch in the tire to take care of it. While at the store I grabbed a pair of shorts for future riding. I was able to get a pair two sizes smaller that what I started my trip with. When I arrived to the room I wasn't feeling that good, I hope it from a poor night sleep last night. Today we rode 45.5 miles.
I do need to clarify something. When I set out on this adventure I had plans to camp often and motel it only once a week. Since we started I've camped only once and spent the other nights in a motel. Bob is great in getting the best price imageable for our rooms. The last several night my part of the room has been $25.00 or less. Since most camping cost around $20.00 this is hard to pass up.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.163s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0575s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb