Reunion of the magical kind


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Cape Canaveral
December 16th 2009
Published: December 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well it is all pixie dust, mickey ears and princess tea parties this week. I am back aboard the Disney Magic and automatically I want to head down to the bowels of the ship to crew quarters and the girls remind me I am a passanger and can even use the glass elevators! Such decadence!!

The trip from DisneyWorld to the port in Cape Canaveral was long as I had to go back to the airport and then out to the port as I was staying in the dodgey brothers budget resort at DisneyWorld but the thought of seeing my friends from crew days kept the time at bay. I met up with Kerry first prior to boarding the ship, (Kerry was my roomie during my crew days who is from country England - much more lady than ladette that is for sure! LOL!!) We then saw our bride and groom, Lauren and Terence, who asked Kerry and I to be their witnesses as they officially got married in the state of Florida prior to setting sail. Not the glamour you are expecting, in thongs and jeans but they did have their mickey ears on and it was a very unexpected and delightful moment to witness. Krista, my roomie from Traditions and her family came on just before sail away so our magical reunion was with lifejackets on at drill - dont ask me what to do if there is an emergency as we were going hell for leather talking to eachother!!

I cant describe what is like to meet up with my friends from the old days but every now and then I give them a great big hug and squeeze them really tight so I can store the memories for when I get home. There are 44 passangers in our wedding party and it means that anywhere you go you run into someone from the group making it an easy way to travel.

Our first port of call was Key West but first we had a character breakfast and dined with Mickey, Minnie, Goofy, Chip, Dale and a few others. We wandered about our favourite hideaways (read shopping - Cheryl I finally got a black skirt!!) and in the evening returned to shore for the Bachelor / Bachelorette parties which was loads of fun, we had to get back on the ship by 1am so we went to the old haunts and had a fantastic time an created a whole new bunch of memories.

The following day we were at sea. Jonathon, an old friend from crew days is now concierge, organised brunch at Palos, the fine dining adults only restaurant on board so Kerry and I started the day with a decadent meal including crab, scollaps, prawns, smoked trout, pastries and the like... Elastic waisted pants anyone!! The rest of the day was spent soaking up some rays, head to deck for 4 for a 5km run and watching a movie from the pool whilst eating ice cream - its a hard life but someone has to do it! That evening we had formal night and I have to say we all scub up pretty well thank you very much. Lots of lovely photos taken with characters, without characters, etc

Grand Cayman was our next stop and I hunted down some locals for a manicure and pedicure which was much needed. We also spent some quality time in Mrgaritaville which has a pool and slide - quite easily could have made my home there yesterdaay but alas a french meal was awaiting me onboard with a new broadway show. I also finally found Snow White last night, my favourite princess and of course had to have my picture with her, (high hooooo!)

Today finds me back in Mexico, Cozomel this time and we are picking up some last minute souviners and dining at Panchos Garden the best restaurant in town for my last chance to eat shrimp fraitas the way they are meant to be done. Tonight we have a pirate party and the new Princess and the Frog movie premiering which will be great to see.

Tomorrow we are at sea again and then it is wedding day and before I know it I will be making the lonely trip back across the seas to Sydney again but until then there are champagne cocktails to drink and people to party with.

Leanne

Advertisement



17th December 2009

cruising cruising
Hi Leanne, Wow some really great and special memories for you that you will be able to keep with you for a lifetime. I'm really happy for you and reading between the lines it looks like this has been one of the highlights of the trip, which is what frienship is really about anyway. The cruise sounds very very cool and it all sounds so great. It's a tad over 40C in the west of Sydney today (Thursday ) just to prepare you for it all. Anyway, enjoy what's left, the wedding will add some more incredible memories for you and I hope your trip home to sunny Sydney is a safe one to. Take care. Kind Regards Michael
17th December 2009

Disney Dreams
Hi Leanne, your cruise sounds amazing...have a ball and I look to catching up with you when you get back. x

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb