Tom's trip to DC


Advertisement
Published: April 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well I went to Washington DC for 2 days because mum was going to be in town and I really wanted to see the city. I went down and walked around the city for a day before I met Mum at her hotel at night. The following day we went to the airlington national cemetary and I went to the JFK arts centre. It was a really fun trip and I have posted the best of the 350 photos I took below.

P.S. Sorry I'ts been a while coming I've had a fair bit on my plate until now. I'll be putting up the Vegas and Boston ones soon as well.


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

National Gallery of ArtNational Gallery of Art
National Gallery of Art

This building was the first one I stopped at on my tour of the Mall. Everything was closed becasue I came straight from the airport.
LionLion
Lion

Mufasa is remembered for eternity here in DC nearby the Capitol Building.
Capitol BuildingCapitol Building
Capitol Building

The centre of US democracy
Capitol BuildingCapitol Building
Capitol Building

I think the Guard has an M16
Library of CongressLibrary of Congress
Library of Congress

Believe it or not, this is a library. I went for a tour around here because it was the first place I came to that was open, wasn't all that interesting but they had a Gutenberg Bible.
The Supreme CourtThe Supreme Court
The Supreme Court

The guards weren't too happy when I stood on the bench to take this photo.
Aussie TreeAussie Tree
Aussie Tree

I walked through the rest of the botanic gardens, and this was the only aussie tree in the place.
Blue GumsBlue Gums
Blue Gums

I've seen a couple of these in real life and I'm pretty sure they wouldn't fit inside the greenhouse I was inside.
OrchidsOrchids
Orchids

Ok the next few photos are slightly batty, but I really like the varied shapes of orchids so I put the best couple up.
OrchidsOrchids
Orchids

This one was really strange.
OrchidsOrchids
Orchids

This one reminded me of a passion fruit.
The Smithsonian 1The Smithsonian 1
The Smithsonian 1

Almost all the museums on the Mall are part of the Smithsonian institute, this one was kind of cool so it got a photo.
Smithsonian 2Smithsonian 2
Smithsonian 2

This is the main Smithsonian building.
The worlds largest .... "Spaceship"The worlds largest .... "Spaceship"
The worlds largest .... "Spaceship"

Notice the number of US flags at the base, they sure like the flag in DC.
Patriotism gone to farPatriotism gone to far
Patriotism gone to far

Even the Coke cups have the US flag on them in DC.
The Lincon MemorialThe Lincon Memorial
The Lincon Memorial

The guy just would not move. I had my "Meals on the Move" lunch here on the steps, and rested my legs a bit beacuse I had been walking solidly for about 4-5 hours by now.
LinconLincon
Lincon

This is a very impresive statue. It's also really cool to see in real life after seeing it in movies so often.
The Reflecting PondThe Reflecting Pond
The Reflecting Pond

It was a shame it was so windy because it ruined the reflection.
Bathing ?????????Bathing ?????????
Bathing ?????????

Pea bladder had to make a toilet stop on the way back to the washington monument, and I thought this sign deserved a mention.
Jefferson MemorialJefferson Memorial
Jefferson Memorial

After lunch and a little walk to back to the Washington Monumet I was a bit tired so I sat down against the tower and had a sleep. This picture was from the top of the monument.


Tot: 0.387s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0633s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb