Thought's of the day by Nath


Advertisement
Published: September 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: 1 75 secs
2: 2 78 secs
3: 3 73 secs
4: 4 51 secs
5: 5 67 secs
6: 6 90 secs
7: 7 60 secs
Airport hotelAirport hotelAirport hotel

very nice for £46 a night
Well its Saturday evening and we have spent the last 4 nights in Washington. This is our last night here as we are leaving for New York tomorrow morning.

So far my feet feel like they have walked every inch of this city, but I feel like there is still loads to see, especially in the museums. We have been to the natural history and aviation and space museum this week, spending almost a whole day in each and that’s going around them at speed!

We have also seen all the main sites along the mall, walking to most and also doing an open top London bus tour around them as well. I found the main area around the mall to be very odd. All the buildings and monuments are made of white stone and have lots of huge stone pillars, if I didn’t know better I would have thought I was in Rome!!

I have found Washington strangely quiet and spotlessly clean all week until this morning when there was a demonstration and a rumoured 200,000 people marched up to the capitol building to make their point. This changed the view of the streets I had become
Day 1Day 1Day 1

off we go to Washington DC
use to and bought a bit of much needed life to the place.

I have come to see Washington as a very false place, the clean streets the perfect trees and grass and more than its fair share of attractive people, the whole place is really just a big advertisement to the world trying to show how great and perfect the American capitol is. But by doing so it is also a lifeless place with little character. However saying this I’m sure if we went out of town into some of the surrounding neighbourhood’s things would be different.

The hostel has been good, comfortable beds, fairly quiet and it has organised activities on every night (movie and cookie night, jazz in the park, tour of George town and of course the pub crawl night). We have met and made a few friends but unfortunately as everyone here is only visiting new friends can come and go within 24 hrs. We did meet 2 young guys from the UK (Bognor), Steve and Stuart doing a trip on a tight budget, but not so tight a budget that we couldn’t convince them to spend almost $300 on a net book after letting them borrow ours for 10mins!

overall its been a good start to our trip and I'm really enjoying it, lets hope it continues!!

Off to New York tmr to see the real america (well what I know from the TV anyway)


Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Some show offs houseSome show offs house
Some show offs house

apparently he's a big deal round here
MooseMoose
Moose

I never knew they were that big!
Pat the doggyPat the doggy
Pat the doggy

Nath impersonating the wild dog
What a heffaWhat a heffa
What a heffa

the rotunda at the Natural history Museum
IMAXX Theatre here I comeIMAXX Theatre here I come
IMAXX Theatre here I come

Not just a fashion statement
Erm I dont think he wants to goErm I dont think he wants to go
Erm I dont think he wants to go

A welsh man and his friend
Show offShow off
Show off

Its not CHiPs when your in Washington its WHiPs (Nath showing his age and strange sense of humour)


25th September 2009

Bitter?
Are you just bitter that Mulder wasn't actually there? ;-)

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0245s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb