A few words about what I'll ACTUALLY be doing!


Advertisement
Published: May 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I met with my supervisor Amelia today, who for those of you who would get this, looks kind of like Dani from last season's Tila Tequila. Woooahhh. She's super cool and really chill and she has a lot of good ideas for ways me and Sarah T. can get involved. (Sarah T, not to be confused with Sara, is the other intern who's working for Amelia, also going into genetic counseling.)

One thing I'll be doing is a full edit on this Manual .

Another thing I'll be doing is helping to format and organize a system that goes along with the Access To Credible Genetics Resources , which is a guide for both patients and professionals to get them accurate, up-to-date, understandable information about genetic conditions.

The ATGC resource guide is being funded by a grant from the Center for Disease Control in partnership with advocacy organizations for Duchenne/Becker Muscular Dystrophy and Fragile X Syndrome , and is being overseen by these organizations as well as a National Advisory Council, and they will be holding a conference here in DC in a couple of weeks, and I'll be helping to organize that. And I get to attend! Woo hoo.

Then of course, our big lobbying effort known as the Day on the Hill will be in July, and a massive weekend conference, and everyone helps out with that.

So I don't have pictures yet but I will! I will...



Advertisement



6th July 2008

one of my mom's friends has a kid with fragile x. do good work, katie!

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0605s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb