The only thing we have to fear is fear itself


Advertisement
Published: March 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

So I am writing this blog 2 1/2 years AFTER we took that trip. I am annoyed at myself, especially since I have had this blog for a long time now and have neglected updating it!

Anyway, am going to try to remember the trip as best as I can....

Our morning consisted of us going to the US Mint. To see where money is made. Most the tickets to museums do not cost anything. Except we did have a specific time that we are supposed to go and see everything. I think our time started about 9. Anyway, we got to the US Mint for our tour. Sad to say, but within the first hour my feet began to hurt. Bad, even though we had walked a whole bunch yesterday, my feet were already giving me issues!

Well, after the US Mint, it was back to the National Mall. And me, not wanting to go on the subway due to yesterdays "incident" made the entire gang walk... in the heat. Sure, the heat was unbearable, and the metro would have been so easy, but I just couldnt risk having another panic attack. Even though Jay kept reminding
ChelseChelseChelse

Chelse on the stairs
me that in 6 months we will be in London and I will have no choice but to use the metro.

Anyway, we walked the reflecting pool of the mall which is long and huge! Mr. Lincoln waited for us at the other end...it didnt LOOK like a far walk...oh, but it was.

And then we were there....Lincoln, glorious Lincoln. The memorial was dedicated on May 30, 1922 and has been the site for many famous speeches including Martin Luther King's "I have a dream" speech.

I took many pictures, afterwards we walked along the Vietnam wall Memorial, which is a great dedication to our fallen soldiers. Also very sad to read the names of the lives that have been lost.

Around noon or so we decided to stop and get lunch at an outside cafe. We felt irritated that there wasnt more indoor venues, since it was so hot out. We sat at a table with our deli sandwiches and our cokes and cooled off for a brief moment before deciding what to do for the remainder of the day.

Chelse and Cyrus decided to head back to the hotel for a few hours for a "nap" because they were "tired" uh-huh....we weren't born yesterday! lol. We decided to meet at Union Station around 5 or so to set up a night tour.

Well...me being stubborn, still wouldnt get back on the metro, despite the heat. And it was HOT AS HELL.
Jay and I walked all along Pennsylvania Ave and we walked to Ford's Theater, site where Lincoln was shot and also saw Petersen House, where Lincoln was carried to and he died the next morning.

And we walked again. We finally made it to Union station with sweat pouring down our bodies. I was tired, hungry, cranky, and most of all...HOT. We sat down in a Johnny Rockets to get some grub before purchasing our tickets to the night tour. I ordered some kind of chicken burger and almost puked when the waiter brought it to me. I was starving, yet queasy at the same time. Little by little, I munched on my burger and drank my sprite. My body temperature was going down, sweat had decreased, and except for my poor feetsies, I was feeling ok. I was going to make it.

Lo and Behold, my sis and
WashingtonWashingtonWashington

Where the Lincoln monument is
Cyrus decided not to join us for the night tour, which was disapointing. I think she would have really enjoyed it. Sadly, Jay and I were the last people on the tour bus and the bus was so full we didnt get seats together. We did, however get seats right across from each other, across the aisle of the bus which wasnt bad so at least we could still talk to each other.

As the sun started to go down, it got real cool....finally. We saw many amazing monuments at night including Lincoln's Memorial again, WWII memorial, which sadly, was under renovation so the amazing fountain and lights were not on. Also saw Korean War Memorial and FDR's Memorial, which was my favorite site in all of the trip, I think. And he uttered one of my favorite quotes:

"The only thing we have to fear is fear itself."

After the tour, we headed back to our hotel, where, we promptly passed out.


Additional photos below
Photos: 45, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Washington MonumentWashington Monument
Washington Monument

This is one of my favorite pics from the trip!
Mr. LincolnMr. Lincoln
Mr. Lincoln

Mr. Lincoln himself!
LincolnLincoln
Lincoln

This was so cool to see.
Closer upCloser up
Closer up

A close up
Vietnam WallVietnam Wall
Vietnam Wall

Its kinda far away
Fords TheaterFords Theater
Fords Theater

Jay and I walked to Fords theater.
Fords theaterFords theater
Fords theater

Where Lincoln was shot!
more washington picsmore washington pics
more washington pics

We took a long walk through the city. So I took pics of buildings!
Capitol BuildingCapitol Building
Capitol Building

We went on a "night tour" of the city. Took about 3, or 4 hours (I dont remember!) but this is the capitol building at dusk.


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0348s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb