Day 40: Washington DC


Advertisement
Published: February 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Woke up this morning feeling a bit worse for wear, but being in DC, there is so much to see and do that I pushed through it. First stop was the Air and Space museum. This museum had a bunch of avation related things, including the Wright Flyer, the first ever plane to be flown. It was cool to see, until I realised that it wasnt in the original condition, but it was still worth seeing. We also attempted to see a Planetarium show, but Nikki, Moe and I all fell asleep through it. The space section was good, but after being at Kennedy Space Center, it was a bit of a let down.

Next up on the list was the National Archives building, home of the three most important documents in American history; the Constitution, the Bill of Rights and the Declaration of Independance. Only the Constitution was readable, the other two were far too faded. From here we went to the Museum of Natural History. There was some really awesome stuff here like dinosaur skeletons and a whole range of skulls from people from different eras. The top attraction though was the Hope Diamond; the largest diamond in the world. It was really nice and almost blue in colour, but it wasnt as big as I expected.

Our last stop of the day was the American History museum. It was a bit of a letdown, but the pop culture exhibit was great. It is home to Dorothy's red slippers, Michael Jackson's hat and Van Halen's guitar among other things. The major attraction was the original Star Spangled Banner. It was so big, I never thought it would be that big. The story behind the writting of the national anthem was prety interesting too.

For dinner we headed out to Georgetown, which is a shopping/nightlife district of DC. We headed to Pizzeria Uno for dinner, which is a branch of the original Pizzeria Uno in Chicago. I had my first Deep Dish pizza here. It was so nice, really crunchy crust but loads of toppings. After dinner I went out for about an hour but I was so tired I headed home early with some others.

Tomorrow I plan to go to the Holocaust museum and see some of the monuments in the day time, but I also want to head home early so I can watch some of the Superbowl pregame show.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0234s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb