Day 52 - Washington D.C.


Advertisement
Published: November 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

My one full day of sightseeing around Washington DC, and I was going to spend most of it walking around.

First off, I headed to the Capitol building. I thought this was the White House at first, but I found out I was wrong. A pretty good looking building, I'm guessing that a few people would make that mistake.

I walked through the National Mall, all the way to the Washington Monument - much bigger than I expected it to be. There was more to see further along, towards the river - there was the War Memorial, which was a photogenic area, but in no way do I support war. There was also the Lincoln Memorial, which I walked around before heading across the bridge, into Virginia. Here they had the Arlington Cemetery, which I only spent a few moments at.

This whole day of sightseeing took me around five or so hours. A lot of walking was done, and I treated myself to a break. I almost forgot to see the White House, and that was because I thought I already saw it when I saw the Capitol. Luckily I spotted it on the map, and it was relatively close to where I was having my dinner.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0222s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 998.8kb