Day 51 - Washington D.C.


Advertisement
Published: November 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Time to have finally visited the capital of the United States of America. First things first, I woke up as the bus was driving through Virginia. I actually seemed to have had a good sleep this time. I wasn't too tired.

Virginia was beautiful. Once again, orange, red, yellow and green-leaved trees along the highway. We were approaching Richmond, our one change before Washington DC. I got there two and a half hours later, and found my way to the hostel easily.

It was slightly chilly here, but not enough to need a jumper. I settled into me new place, where I met my roommate, who was Aussie, and had a story. He's been travelling a lot, like myself, and has been working in South Africa.

After our little chat, I headed out to buy some food and look for a laptop charger, because guess what? Mine broke. The wires became separated from inside the rubber tube. I had to catch the metro to Columbia Heights and grab a new charger from Best Buy, costing $60. Unbelievable.

On the way back it was even more interesting. I witnessed a homeless man attacking a gay university student, making homophobic comments and throwing him to the ground. I felt the need to intervene.

My first instinct was to pull out my phone and dial 911, although I didn't know the street name that this was taking place in, and I was a little too worried it might not be my best bet. So I decided to walk up to the two of them.

I was a little scared at first, but part of me had to try and put a stop to the fighting. I ended up throwing a punch in the homeless man's face to stop him from chasing the student. It was the first time I had ever punched someone, and I definitely had the adrenaline rush going. I told him to leave the guy alone.

The police arrived shortly after and everything was taken care of. The guy thanked me and offered to take me out for a drink, but I told him it was all good, and I just headed back to my hostel to relax, and have some pizza before bed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.067s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb