Celebrating the Peace Corps' 50th Birthday


Advertisement
Published: March 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Ask Not...Ask Not...Ask Not...

For me this is what it's all about.
Dear Reader,

March 1st, 2011 was the 50th Anniversary of the Peace Corps which was created by executive order of President John F. Kennedy on March 1st, 1961. I was surprised to find that there really wasn't any large celebration of this historic occasion here in DC. So, to celebrate this event in our own way Sarah and I went to the Kennedy Center.

We went to see the Washington Opera Company perform Puccini's Madama Butterfly. It was a very beautiful and moving performance. Puccini's opera is a tale of hubris and betrayal. The final tragic act left me with the hair standing up on the back of my neck.

While I was at the Kennedy Center I learned a few things about the place and it's presidential namesake. President Eisenhower actually signed the act creating the "National Cultural Center." However, It was President Kennedy who took the lead in raising funds for the new center. President Kennedy named Mrs. Eisenhower and Mrs. Kennedy as co-chairwomen for the center's fundraising activities. There were special luncheons and receptions held at the White House with the purpose of raising the necessary funds. The National Cultural Center was designated as a
Kennedy CenterKennedy CenterKennedy Center

Interior view of the Kennedy Center.
"living memorial" to President Kennedy by Congress on November 1963.

Earlier I went out to the Ukrainian Embassy in Georgetown to take some pictures. The Ukrainian Embassy is housed in the historic Forrest-Marbury House which was built in 1788. As many of you know I will soon be departing for Ukraine to begin my Peace Corps service. I am really looking forward to this opportunity to serve the people of Ukraine.

Until Next Time,
Chris


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Hall of NationsHall of Nations
Hall of Nations

Flags from all the nations of the world at the Kennedy Center.
Ukrainian FlagUkrainian Flag
Ukrainian Flag

I found the Ukrainian flag in the Hall of Nations.


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb