Add 8 Years to Your Life


Advertisement
Published: March 8th 2021
Edit Blog Post

How would you like to add 8 years to your life? I found this article both interesting and wishful thinking. I like to think we all have a sense of humor. But I have noticed, as I get older, fewer things amuse me or make me laugh. Why?
I thought you would be interested in this story I found on MSN: Having a Sense of Humor Could Add 8 Years to Your Life and Lead to a Better Career http://a.msn.com/03/en-us/BB1dRbs7?ocid=se



For one, the jokes I receive via email are not as funny. And the cartoons posted on FB seem less amusing. But when I see what I think is a GOOD one, I do smile or even laugh out loud. So, it takes more to amuse me, and it happens less often.



The cartoon above (Ask Alice) is a great example, for obvious reasons. The joke fits my age group and taste in music.



Speaking of music, I find myself listening to more classical music these days. I strongly suggest you try it, even if you are relatively "new" to classical music. It is relaxing, often uplifting, and mainly, void of negative words!



I think after four years of contentious politics, it is time for all of us to lighten up. I was as guilty as anyone, passing along trump and orange man jokes. Thankfully, and hopefully, we have all moved on.



It was so refreshing to hear Amanda Gorman at the Inauguration of President Biden. Yes, there is hope for the youth of today, with people like her.



One of the most negative inputs into our lives are the media, both printed and electronic. Television news is perhaps the worst, yet I still watch, but much less than before. The insurrection of the US Capitol on January 6th was one of the worst things I have ever seen on TV.



But thankfully, many of you are very diligent about sending jokes, good stories, and travel information. You know who you are, and I thank you profusely.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb