Ending, new start.. with sunrise and stitches


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Connecticut
July 29th 2007
Published: November 30th -0001
Edit Blog Post

Friday night (last weekend) before the end of first session, we had banquet night. It's a buffet with alcohol free bubbles. Everything was beautiful and the kids, especially the girls, dressed up pretty! After this fabulous meal, we had the dance, which was going to be going all night long, till sunrise... I offered to do all the dishes, this because the dance for the counselors can be boring: guarding certain spots and at the dance itself you see a lot of dirrrty dancing going on, too much grinding combined with french kisses😉 Dishes were done after more or less 2 hours, took a look at the dance, wiggled a bit along with the music, then took a nap for 1,5hr. The sunrise was not visible (it became only brighter every minute), but it was cool though: with everyone who was still awake, sitting, hanging, lying on the dock!! After a 2 hour sleep, rise and shine for breakfast and last packing. The end of the first session means: kids going home, some staying, kids coming up...result: a lot of crying kids. Because for some of them it's their last year for others just because they gonna miss their friends.

Saturday with helping out a kid who was throwing out garbage, a broken champagne glass slit open my finger and I ended up in the hospital, result 7 stitches. Hospital was kinda funny, joking around after waiting for a while. I had for the first time stitches (I looked closely), asked for whiskey (didn't get it), conversation with doctor about pain levels and Bush. After that I cried my eyes out for the rest of the day. Had a lot of pain, and just couldn't stop thinking about the idea that I couldn't go in the water for like 10 days minimum, just not be able to do the stuff I liked.



The days after this, I didn't have any pain, actual no feeling at all on one side. Later on I went to the hospital to ask of I could go on a hike trip and do white water rafting on day 9 with stitches, I got a ' yes'. I was was so pleased with it. This because the second year trip would leave Thursday and my finger wouldn't be a reason not to go..This happy mood changed quickly, I was told that only second year counselors are going on the trip, angry, later a discussion, 1 change, got reasons which didn't make sense to me...so the trips are gone now while I am writing this, it sucks

This whole weekend, because of the trips we have 0 kids, that's really weird, but nice to: really enjoying the quietness around in the unit AND we have Adult-camp know..
I got the idea of painting the was houses (supposingly white, but now brownish/blackish) on the inside, because they were disgusting, so I have been cleaning and painting the walls.. and a bit of myself. Tomorrow the trips will be back, looking forward to that. And maybe I even going to pick them up nearby Vermont...it's gonna be very very smelly😉

kiss nouk

Advertisement



Tot: 0.231s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 17; qc: 76; dbt: 0.0982s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb