5 day bike trip


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Connecticut
July 15th 2007
Published: November 30th -0001
Edit Blog Post

I just came back yesterday from the 5 day bike trip. I was 144 miles (230km). You can't compare it to biking in Holland, here they have hills, humidity (over 80%!)(MISSING), more hills, high temperature (2 days over 32 C), and more hills. Besides that we had a big group of 18 kids with 5 counselors, and that was especially in the beginning an easy irritation thing for me. Not listening, dangerous passing, no communication, not listening again, whining, etc. And all that besides the hills 😊

We slept in between in churches, as we are from an Episcopal camp, that was kinda weird, but also cool actually. Here you have churches with kitchens and restrooms. Only no showers and beds. We slept on the ground for 4 nights, that was pretty okay. But no showers: that means feet washings in the sink and pamper-baby wipes for your body. We headed towards Rhode Islands and back, we had a moment on the beach on Wednesday, the weather was a bit crap at first, but cleared totally after an hour. That day was a short day with only 12 miles total.

We also past Mystic, CT. That's a nice little town. And we saw there at night -how appropriate- Mystic Pizza, with Julia Roberts. This created some funny moments with the kids.

The trip was heavy and I wanted to die a few times along the way, I felt like hating Shay (trip director) for putting me on the trip, hated the kids for being so obnoxious, hated the sun for being so hot, just everything. But in the end I was so so proud of myself. I only walked up one hill and was just behind the front group the whole trip. Also was I so proud of the kids for finishing too!



Some quotes of the kids during the bike trip:
"I hate my life"
"My life and soul hurts"
"Be a friend and shatter my ankles"



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



17th July 2007

YEUY!!
I am so proud of you. I could not have done it better!!! Kiss, sis

Tot: 0.216s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 75; dbt: 0.0779s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb