The perfect first day


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
Saved: February 2nd 2018
Edit Blog Post

As the unfamiliar sound slowly crept into my consciousness I realized those sounds - theyre birds, and not California birds - it was almost as if they had an east coast accent. And that marshmallow you think envelopes you - you're in Aunt Eleanor's guest room and you're sleeping in the most comfortable bed you've ever slept in. Note to groggy self: Ask for the manufacture, model and style number and find immediately upon returning home.

My east coast family has a lifestyle of always being on a mission. There's an energy that surrounds them, I almost feel boring in comparison but soon realize - we're family and there's no reason to compare.

Breakfast at Cristy's in Westbrook, CT was nice and felt very east coast-ish. I had a butter pecan latte that made me think of my time in Europe where consuming coffee feels like an experience. Nothing feels overpopulated here. There's a sense of charm albeit ordinary and quite simple. It appeals to me and for a few minutes on my drive glancing out and seeing green everywhere I wonder what it would be like to live here. My thoughts quickly turn to my convertible and I realize that some things just belong in California.

Off to the Outlet Mall we go where it feels like The Amazing Race. Courtney and Aunt E are professional shoppers, I'm serious. They have it down to a science and it's intriguing for me to watch. It made me miss my mother thinking of what it would be like to have her as they have one another at this stage of life. I'm not sad though because I share in the beauty of being able to witness it.

By about 2:00 pm I was fading fast. Jet lag had set in and I was yearning for a nap in the bed made of marshmallow. My buddy Hank, Courtney's dog joined me and I'm almost positive we snored in unison.

We had a nice family dinner together and then Courtney, Chandler and I watched Big Little Lies. I'm happy to know they are binge watchers too and with only a total of 8 episodes I'll be able to finish season one before I leave.

Tomorrow....we go to Greenpond, NJ where my next few days will be packed with family. My heart is full just thinking about it ❤️

I am missing Rio


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom



Comments only available on published blogs

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0503s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb