My trip out to Colorado Aug 20-26, 2008


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado
August 20th 2008
Published: March 25th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I took a trip out to Boulder/Denver Colorado. My friend Amber lived there, whom I have not seen in a few years since she left Hartford. I was out there for about a week and made the best of it. I was active everyday. Unfortunately Amber could not take time off but I am pretty independent and told her not to worry I will mosey around when she was not around. Some of the stops I (we) made were....

Denver's Botanical Garden -though I do not know plant's names and quite frankly I cannot even keep my house plants alive but that does not take away my appreciation for their beauty. One of my favorite things to take photos of are plants and flowers. The Botanical Garden was quite large (in my opinion) that house plants from the native of Colorado to Africa. Gorgeous!!!! I highly recommend this place if you travel to the Denver area!!

Denver Zoo -I believe I did this on my last day while Amber was working. One of the other things that I enjoy taking photos of are animals but Denver Zoo's probably much like other ones? I enjoyed it anyways.

Estes Park -Amber and myself took a drive to Estes Park. Along the way we saw the hotel used in Stephen King's the Shining. But at Estes Park, the chipmunks were abundant and they were chunky. Clearly well fed. We walked around and then rode a gondola to the top of the mountain where more chipmunks were.

Garden of the Gods and Cave of the Winds -Myself, Amber, Williams, and Williams's friend went to the Garden of the Gods and Cave of the Winds. Garden of the Gods and Cave of the Winds are both natural elements. With Garden of the Gods within the rock formation you can see the "kissing camels". I have never seen such bright red rock before. Cave of the Winds was interesting to me because I have never been in a cave before. It was a little eerie...and don't lick the walls.

It was nice catching up with Amber. During our time we talks about our lives, the lives at Hartford. One night I went with her to her book club. She talked about Bongo game....I want to play BONGO!!! Evidently they have gatherings for BONGO players for games throughout the US. Clearly in Eastern CT, that is not happening-it was difficult enough finding a book club of my own.


Additional photos below
Photos: 59, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Denver Botanic GardenDenver Botanic Garden
Denver Botanic Garden

Doesn't that just look peaceful?


Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb