Hitch Hiking it in my backyard.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado
September 20th 2008
Published: September 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post


I stuck out my thumb, my shadow on the run.
The road brings freedom and I am free,
to make me what I want to be.

Joey and I set out after class on friday. Two packs, boots, and a dog, we were going to get somewhere. Where? We didn't really know. Besides, the journey is the destination. It wasn't long before a couple from durango scooped us up. Grateful Dead tunes swam from the speakers as we watched the road begin to pass us by. After a few minutes they dropped us off at the mouth of gorgeous Taylor Canyon. After a good three hours of trying to find mismatched rides in the canyon we trekked upwards into the hills to find a place to sleep.

I started a scrumptious dinner of pasta, fresh red tomatoes, and wheat tortillas. We sat and watched a breathtaking sunset as it dipped behind the cascading peaks littered with the yellows and oranges of the changing aspens. We sat in awe of our backyard, we were but 12 miles from our beds.

We slept under the stars and with the sun headed back towards the road to pick up another ride up to the reservoir. We had no idea of just how long we would be sitting there but that didn't much matter. We sat on our packs with Kailash and Joey played harmonica. It was like some clip out of a seventies music video from buffalo springfield, because there was definitely "something happenin' here".

The road reminded me that freedom exists. Freedom is a mindset. I mindset that caters to independence, thought, and lack of material attachments. Out on the road, right then, we had nothing to worry about. No car to worry about gas. No house to worry about repairs. No nothing, nothing but the freedom of where the next ride would take us and how we would choose to adopt that new home. I don't want to be a part of the rat race. Ever.

The trouble with the rat race is that, even if you win, you're still a rat.

Peace.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb