Powder snow


Advertisement
Published: January 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Last night one of the girls in my room and I went out for Mexican which was really nice, and the giant american portion sizes filled me up nicely. Aspen has so many restauraunts and places to eat. Yesterday I wrote that it had snowed the entire day. Well today we woke up to beautiful clear skies, no (falling) snow and a temperature of around -25 celsius. I decided today to go to Snowmass which is about 12 miles away from Aspen. It took awhile to get there as there was an accident on the road. There is small village and a couple of shopping malls at Snowmass. I headed straight for the slopes after putting about 5 layers on. Snowmass is a harder mountain than Buttermilk so I only went about half way up the mountain, one of the lifts is pretty cool you can just get off at the half way point. By the end of the day I was doing harder intermediate tracks in 8 inches of powder, and going between the trees a bit too. Still no crashes/ disasters. At the end of the day I had a swim in the pool outside, its nice and hot even though there is snow surrounding it. Tomorrow I plan to go back to Snowmass for a few runs, then onto Highlands to pay a quick visit. I'll then come back to St. Moritz and start packing.
I leave for Vancouver, via Denver, early on Tuesday morning (Wednesday NZ time)


Advertisement



Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb