Golden


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Golden
September 4th 2011
Published: September 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I started my day attempting to go to apparently the best Breakfast place in Denver called Snooze but I got there and the queue was like 30 people deep and I just kept going.

I took the Light rail to Colorado Station and while waiting at the bus stop I saw there really strange decorations in front of a building. Looks like those strange plants with the long stems and the bowls of spikes coming out of them. These are purple (Can you say "Start Wearing Purple for me know")

After the Snooze disappointment I phoned up Will and asked for some option he directed me to Cherry Creek Mall.

The walk there was very pleasant and I walked through the Cherry Creek Neighborhood an thought this would be a nice place to live. Looked very much like what you expect an average american Neighborhood would look like. Man was I wrong I took a picture of a realty board.
Maybe the fact that this house had it's own website should have rang some bells. this lovely little home is $1.5 Million. That is an insane amount for that house but apparently it is all about the location. Just to clarify this is not the Norm the other house prices I have seen seem fairly reasonable.

I took a picture of a bird of Pray (Not sure what it is)

Cherry Creek Mall was somewhat disappointing, nothing really special I think Park meadows is much more interesting.

I ended up having my first US burger at a place called Johnny Rockets. It was a fairly nice Burger nothing spectacular but it was fairly good.

The Cherry creek is lovely though and I sat next to that waiting for Will and Rachel to pick me up.

Will and Rachel took me to a little Mountain / Mining Town called Golden Colorado today.

It is a very nice place which host the largest Brewery I have ever seen called Coors. It is probably the biggest single thing in Golden you can see it fairly easily.

The also have this little mountain(I would say koppie) called Table Mountain. Now this is not Table mountain in Cape Town but it does look fairly flat and like a table.

We had a lovely lunch at a Mexican Grill place.

And Then a lovely stroll down the river/creek (depending on whom you ask) running through the middle of town.
It is amazing to me that this river is fed solely by Snow Melt off the Rockies and this early in Autumn there is still enough melt to make this torrent. But that is maybe just a South African point of view because this would be a fairly large river from where I am from 😊

The town also has a little micro brewery that prides itself on being the second biggest brewery in Golden 😊 but it was so overcrowded that we decided to head back to Denver.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Average American StreetAverage American Street
Average American Street

That is what I thought
255 Cook , Cherry Creek255 Cook , Cherry Creek
255 Cook , Cherry Creek

Nice enough house, but $1.5 Million me thinks not. For South Africans just think of the house you can build for R10 Million Rand.
Cherry CreekCherry Creek
Cherry Creek

Took this picture outside the Cherry creek shopping center
Blow Up Bed down the CreekBlow Up Bed down the Creek
Blow Up Bed down the Creek

This dude decided to ride his blow up bed down the creek


Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0816s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb