The Weight of Stuff


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Denver
August 9th 2010
Published: August 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I've now entered a phase in my pre-journey that requires me to unload the burden of my possessions. I'm doing this for 2 reasons: 1 is to use the money I gain from the sale of my things on my trip and 2 is to avoid returning to a storage unit full of the defining artifacts of my pre-ATW adventure. This trip is about discovery, change and growth and the thought of all of my insignificant but prolific belongings weighs me down in a physical way. It sits on my chest and leans its elbows into my collarbone, sporting a cheshire cat grin and a sadistic sense of humor. The weight of "stuff" is substantial.

The weight is substantial but waning. The more stuff I sell or donate or throw away, the lighter I feel. The freedom that comes from being able to visably take in the entirety of your material possessions with one glance to a corner of a room feels liberating, freeing, empowering. It makes the idea of this trip easily a reality, but it also opens up the future for when I return. I could literally load up a car and drive anywhere, move anywhere, be anywhere. And to me, that possibility is bliss.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb