Defying Gravity


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Denver
May 7th 2010
Published: May 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Just a few short days ago I walked out of my office building for the very last time. I have quit my full-time, quite lucrative job in order to travel around the world. And I'm electric with both excitement and terror.

I feel as if I'm defying gravity, just like Elfaba in Wicked. She sings

something has changed within me, something is not the same, I'm through with playing by the rules of someone else's game, too late for second-guessing, too late to go back to sleep, it's time to trust my instincts, close my eyes and leap!



And my oh my have I taken a leap.

And why did I take such a leap you may ask? For so many reasons. To see other cultures. To get inspired. To hit the re-set button on my life. I'm tired of being constantly stressed out, overworked, putting my personal life on the back burner, being corporate. I have always loved to travel and one fine day, as I was standing on my balcony gazing at the Rocky Mountains, the idea came to me. It came fast and furious and felt physical in a way. It welled tears in my eyes and stirred my soul. It seemed thrilling and irresponsible. And right.

The travel part of my travel blog won't start just yet. But I wanted to start sharing my journey now, as the preparation for such a thing is as much a part of the experience as the actual travel. I still have much to do before I actually catch a plane anywhere - researching destinations in detail, selling my stuff, getting all kinds of vaccinated and renewing my passport. Details, details and more details. I can't wait.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb