The 8 Year Turkey Wait is Over


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Denver
December 20th 2005
Published: December 30th 2005
Edit Blog Post

8 years ago, Mummy Khoo promised me turkey for Christmas, and 8 years later....I'm eating it. Woohoo! Needless to say that turkey has featured in some form or other in most meals since. And there was also......stuffing......STUFFING, lots of stuffing. But it wasn't actually stuffed because the turkey was butterflied. They also had a 'Korean' bbq christmas as well. So much fooood.......

Anyway....the 24 hour train ride was actually pretty good. You get to experience a different side to America....the vast expanse of desert and the little towns in between. We even went through Las Vegas......but New Mexico, not Nevada. We had a stop at Alberqurque .....which reminded me of Bugs Bunny. Why was he always on his way to Alberqurque? We took the train from Union Station in Los Angeles which was a fantastic art deco/noveau building. Then we went through Arizona and New Mexico to get to Denver. The Arizona desert also reminded me a bit of those road runner and coyote cartoons.

The train is good if you have to time, because you can walk around, read or sleep quite comfortably. It was a good experience in people watching. We were actually sitting around a group
Turkey TimeTurkey TimeTurkey Time

8 year old turkey.
of Amish people who were all speaking their own language, which I don't think we would have experienced on a plane. There was this little Amish baby who was so cute because she was all decked out in tiny Amish clothes too. Their clothes are supposed to be drab, but they are so well tailored and ironed!

It's been snowing here and it's SO GREAT. I feel like a bit of an idiot that I got so excited about the snow. The actual snowflakes are really the 'crystally' way they are described....I couldn't believe it. Actually, a couple of days after, the weather was really good. It's actually not that cold. There have been times that I have been outside with just one layer of clothes.

Alexander and Renee are good. Their baby pictures actually look quite similar.

It's been good because Sandra hasn't been working because she is using up her leave. But when she was, we followed her to town. Amy and I went to the mint. So I have been to two of the four mints in America. Downtown denver is kind of small, but the free bus up and down the main street is great. We need one in Sydney from Chinatown to Circular Quay that is free too.

We went skiing. The morning was ok, I didn't fall that much. In truth....I am ok at 'skiing', but I am not ok at 'stopping'. We went to a steeper run in the afternoon......and I was falling a lot there. I wasn't falling because I 'had' to fall......but I wanted to stop.

We've also been going shopping. It's crazy here. I bought a pair of three quarter pants for 47 cents. 47 CENTS!!!!!!!

I drove once. Don't worry, it was ok.....hardly anybody was on the road and it was only to the nearby SuperTarget. And it wasn't the big van or the big jeep.

We also went to the nearby towns of Boulder and Colorado Springs.

Anyway....tomorrow we are going to Orlando. Universal Studios and Disneyworld here we come.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

SkiingSkiing
Skiing

Jo Ann on Ice


Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb