Day 16: Is It Really Day 16?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Denver
July 14th 2008
Published: July 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello from a Mile High in the Sky-or at least the 6th floor of the Hotel Monaco.
We're in Denver, which was an interesting drive in from I76: It sort of made us long for the beauty of Nebraska. Then, 18 miles outside of Denver, Bam!, neighborhoods.

I drove into Denver and probably scared John to death-people really drive in a different way here than any other parts we have been in. So,I publicly apologize to the guy in the little red sports car who pulled out in front of me; how was I to know that everybody in Denver does that?

We were worn out by the time we got to the Hotel Monaco and stopped by their restaurant for a late lunch while we waited to hear from John's nephew Christopher to arrange a visit with him and his new family. We never heard from him, so we chose to go do very needed laundry: our last on-the-road-laundromat experience. We returned in time for wine and hors d'eouvres at the hotel and chatted with the concierge about a good place for dinner. He suggested their restaurant and noticed that we were a bit hesitant. I finallly admitted
Colorado CornColorado CornColorado Corn

We have certainly seen the push for biofuels on this trip: corn, soybeans, corn, soybeans,.....
that I had had one of the worst omelettes from their restaurant that I could ever remember. He talked us into having the prix fixe Sunday night Colorado Dinner with them featuring locally grown and raised speciality items. It was absolutley fabulous! We had exceptional service and the manager/sommalier suggested a wine for every course. He had impeccable taste. It was a fabuous experience and I absoultely forgive them for the less than fabulous brunch. Later I had to go work out on the trerad mill for a while so I don't get any huger than I already have done. Having fun can absolutely destroy one's girlish figure.

So, we have had a sort of in-hotel day. And what a hotel it is! Not too often that you see so many bold choices in fabric and wall design, as well as loud Rolling Stones music in the lobby. Quite a different, but fun, ambience compared to our latest stays.

Tomorrow I am going to meet my second cousin Joyce for the first time and we're going to huddle over family history. John is going to find a Toyota dealer to fix the door on the truck before it falls off, and I hope that I can convince him to get a hot stone massage while he is here. His knee and hip are really bothering him-probably the only reason that he allowed me to drive his truck into a densly populated area. Lovely to stay two nights in such a visually interesting hotel with such kind and attentive personnel.

I can't wait to meet Joyce tomorrow, so I will close for now so I can get some sleep and be ready for a day of intense family history gathering.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Our Hotel RoomOur Hotel Room
Our Hotel Room

Stripes abound
The Ceiling of the LobbyThe Ceiling of the Lobby
The Ceiling of the Lobby

They certainly aren't afraid to be bold with their design in this hotel. It's very busy, but has a warm and happy feel to it.


14th July 2008

Get the massage... NOW!
John, if you do not get the massage, you will really be in trouble. You are on vacation and should be doing vacation "things". Max, I have seen you in action AND heard many stories. I'm convinced that you can get John to get a massage. Lisa
14th July 2008

Hey travelers!
Good morning travelers. I'm just back from vacation myself - one on which I didn't use any electronics - and It's it's been real nice spending the last half-hour enjoying yours. I'm glad I read your email first. Now to all the other emails. Safe journey

Tot: 0.399s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.1371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb