RoadTrip 2008-Denver, Denver, Denver,


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Denver
June 14th 2008
Published: June 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Phase 3--Who Came Up With This Roadtrip Idea?



I wake up early in Grand Junction and the weather is still as foul as my mood, since the Lakers lost the first game of the series. The grey clouds allow me sleep in until 8ish. I had to get downstairs for my free breakfast at the lovely Hampton Inn. I t was a brand new hotel with incredibly comfortable beds. The free breakfast was a large buffet. I would consider staying in one of these again. Since I am making reservations while I am on my way there, doing research of places to stay on my trusty phone, it worked out very well.

Well that good ol' global warming/ extreme weather theory has been put to quite a test here in Colorado. Since they had such phenomenal snow and rain this year, all of the Orchards and open markets have pushed their usual May opening back to mid June or later. One owner's comment, " we have not heard from Al Gore since last October!" With no Orchards to check out or fresh produce to purchase, I gas up El Verde and head to Denver. Again, cannot wait to spend a few days OFF the road!

Here is where I "re-learn" map skills. Apparently, Denver does not seem to mind to have several exits for the same highway over a 100 mile radius. Did they not have enough famous people or dignitaries to name these exits/ roads after? I saw on my super handy Touch phone Google maps application that i had to take the US HWY 6. Well I see US HWY 6 and some outlet stores all on the same exit. How amazingly convenient! If you have shopped with me at outlets or any other store, you know that my excursion took me off the road for about 40 minutes total. My mom would still be on her first rounder. I pull out of the parking lot and see US HWY 6 to Dillon take a right. Happy about my new purchases and quick timing, I head up the mountain. About 10 minutes on this road I notice we are only going straight up and the altitude rises about 1000 feet every 5 minutes. El Verde is not happy and I am not happy because I cannot get El Verde to go over 40 MPH. I continually check the signs, and yes, I am still on US HWY 6. Suddenly, I creep up on a mountain and see skiers!!! I am tempted to stop and rent some gear, but I have dinner plans. I slowly reach the top and am excited to be on the downward slope again. (this slop goes even steeper Saturday evening when I catch up with my college friends) I spot a large HWY down below and have a sneaky suspicion that it is US HWY 70, the same HWY I was on before I took my shopping excursion and got off at the instructed US HWY 6. I see the bright red, white and blue Hwy marker and sure enough it is US HWY 70! i cannot understand why google maps led me so far astray. I shrug it off and see another exit for US HWY 6 is coming for Golden Colorado. Is that not where the Coors Brewery is located? (FYI---I left the s off Coors and spell check corrected it--they have respect). I at that time decide to check my phone again, I recognize my failure immediately. I am suppose to take the US HWY 6 at exit 261. I stupidly took the US HWY 6 exit at 211!! Seriously, name these roads . How hard can that be? How about: for 211 exit, "Steep Hill Gas Guzzler HWY";for the Golden exit, "Redneck HWY to Heaven" and the 261 exit the "HWY you Need." All was not lost, I was later informed by Kimberly Guimarin, that I was on the Loveland pass and the pictures of the awesome cliffs were of the Continental Divide. I recognize amazement without signposts!

Bright lights, Big City! Oh how lovely it is to see: skyscrapers, ball parks, cell towers and non-corporate restaurants. I have made arrangements to stay at the Klimpton Hotel Monaco. It is an awesome little boutique hotel with art deco rooms. They have an "adult adjustment hour" everyday from 5-6. They pick a vineyard and choose a red and white wine to serve from this vineyard each month. I got Georges Dobouef. They have a fairly good chardonnay that is not oak barreled. Not a fan of oaky or smokey flavors in anything I eat or drink. While getting adjusted I notice that they have an array of board games available to their guests. I spy catch phrase and decide that this hotel was built, designed and detailed for me! I have plans to meet Chris and Kimberly Guimarin for dinner (the rest of my trip will have other people in it. I really do have some friends!) I walk over to Larimer Square where we plan to have dinner. Walking down 16th street you cannot help but notice all of the fresh from the office people outside enjoying cocktails. Rockbottom Brewery has the whole sidewalk blocked off and live bands. I am completely impressed with Denver's downtown area contains so many attractions. Everything is within walking distance, both the football and baseball stadium, Elitch Gardens, Downtown Aquarium. Larimer Squares comes up sooner than expected. I decided I need some more "adjusting" and stumble upon Corridor 44 a wine and champagne bar. They have a good selection of flights, I decide on a flight of champagne. The pours were almost full glasses. ( my gay friend in denial, Josh Tate, would probably understand hoe fantastic this is, from his "straight days" in champagne bars in NYC) A half dozen oysters sound like a great companion to these tastes. Moet Chandon White Star is my new favorite champagne under $100. My birthday is July 22nd, in case you need some ideas! Feeling well adjusted it is time meet up with Kimberly and Chris for dinner at Osteria Marco. Kimberly's Babyshower, which takes place tomorrow, is what prompted this road trip. Can I partially blame her? She is about to have a child, she will have plenty of blame placed on her later. She is looking lovely and quite pregnant. Kimberly tells me she just has been drinking more than usual lately. After being MIA trying to find parking for an half hour, Chris arrives, promptly and deservingly orders a Jack and Coke. It is a nice evening in Denver and our patio seats are fantastic for people watching. Across the way was a restaurant that apparently the women need a minimum of plastic surgery to enter. One woman walked by and I think she may have hit a MAXIMUM. I order the Gnocco Fritto which I thought was fried Gnocchi, it is actually a wheat pasta fried with cayenne pepper and parmesan. It very similar to my mom's Bow ties that are covered in Powdered sugar. I got the meatball sliders and a house salad for the rest of my dinner. Kimberly got the mushroom panini and chris got the heart attack special of sausage, meatball and pepperoni with ricotta pizza. The sliders were good but would have been better as a side of meatballs doused in sauce with bread for dipping. The house salad had walnuts dates and gorgonzola, simply delicious and a perfect meal ender. Kimberly loved the panini. I could not taste since the stuffed mushroom food poisoning incident in Kansas City 7 years ago. Chris' artery clogger was fantastic, of course. Completely full, we head to the gelato place down the street. After all it is basically just a liquid, it can find some space. It has a line like Pinkberry, but the options are much better. They also offer Gelatinis. I am inspired for my next patio party. Perfect for a summer brunch. I saunter back to the hotel. W ehave a big day tomorrow. Kimberly's Baby shower, then we are crashing Chris' Man Shower.

Stay tuned for Denver part 2.







Advertisement



18th June 2008

Denver - The mile high city
Hey - make sure you shag someone there, that way you can say you're in the mile high club! your friend, JT

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb