Denver aka The Mile High City


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Denver
December 5th 2007
Published: January 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The train trip to Denver was a long and arduous one. It was an overnight journey and the guy in the seat across from me insisted on snoring all night. It sounded like a pig being slaughtered. I finally found someone who is a noisier snorer than my Dad. Then he started to fart in his sleep. And finally, to top it off, he decided he was too hot and rolled his shirt up unleashing his giant, flabby belly. As a result of my enforced insomnia I spent most of my first day in Denver catching up on sleep.

On the first night I watched the Christmas parade go by my hotel window. They had some huge ballons which were pulled along by people on the ground. Most of the ballons were cartoon characters, such as Kermit the Frog. There were also a number of brass bands playing whilst marching in various formations.

I spent my first proper day walking around the downtown area, which is very small and relatively quiet for a major city. There´s a free bus service along the Mall which was excellent because you can get from one end of downtown to the other for
Pepsi CentrePepsi CentrePepsi Centre

home of the Denver Nuggets basketball team
no cost. I had no other need for transport because everywhere was in walking distance of the Mall. There was a great salad bar along the Mall, which I went to almost every day because I had previously struggled to meet my daily 5 requirements.
I spent a couple of hours in the gym everyday because it´s been hard to get any proper exercise on my travels, so I take every chance I get.
I spent one day doing some shopping for a couple of things I needed and another day looking round the Denver Art Museum. They had a really good section of South American Artifacts which I spent an hour or so perusing.
There´s not that much to do in Denver, but I still enjoyed my time there because it was a good place to chill out and relax. It is situated at an altitude of 5,280 feet, thus it is known as "The Mile High City". The weather there is the strangest I´d encountered because it hardly ever gets too hot or too cold. It also has low levels of preciptation and is generally sunny all year round (300 days of sunshine a year). Apparently this is down to the fact that Denver is situated a long distance from any moisture source and has a low level of humidity (see if you read my blog you get a free meteorological lesson thrown in).


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 16; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb