Down Day


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Cortez
September 12th 2009
Published: September 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Vally FloorVally FloorVally Floor

Probably the most photographed view of Monument Valley
Down day as I traveled from Moab to Cortez/Mesa Verde by way of Monument Valley. Took some good photos along the dusty valley loop. A test for the Forester - no, but rather a test for me, not wanting the dust, dirt and mud to soil my almost pristine vehicle. However, some good occurred later in the day as there was rain in Cortez to wash off most of the dirt. I will be camping the next few days, so updates will not be added until I motel or find a Starbucks.

KC is not enjoying this trip. He is so fearful that road noise makes him cringe and shake. I made a place for him in the front seat so he would be close and I think it helped a little, but he is still scared a lot of the time. He has always had a bad reaction to the rumble bars being installed along the side of the road to alert drivers. In Nevada the rumble bars are also on the center line. The first time I passed a car KC tried to jump in my lap which was inconvenient to say the least. Thereafter when ever there
Three SistersThree SistersThree Sisters

Over view of the southwest side of the valley
was a change in pavement KC became fearful and on high alert will on the road.

I have stayed in Motels so far hoping he would adjust easier - wrong because he must go with me whenever I leave the room (can not leave him unattended in the room). Taking photos is also tough on him as he is either in the car or dragged along on the leash.

Good news! Tonight he ate a full bowl of food which is a first since we left Fallon. I walked him 3 times since we got to Cortez hoping it will help him settle in tonight. I am hoping he will adjust to the road noise although cattle guards send him skyward.

I also need to correct a mistake I made in the Intro. I mention a book titled “Two Voices”. It is actually titled “Of One Spirit: Two United” and I will include a few of writings tonight. I have not read it in awhile and found some to be to personal for even me to divulge.

That which is good
Is discovered by those
Who are looking
For nothing.

Honesty leads to truth
Truth creates intimacy
Intimacy is love.

Humility is the essence of humanness.

To sleep, to dream
Of things that are
Of things that will never be.
Of life and living
Of death and dying
Of love and hate
Of fear and danger.
To sleep, to wake
To be.

We love, limited only by the extent of our perception.

OK enough. Remember these are about 30 years old and formulated by 2 middle-aged dreamers whose love often got carried away.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb