I went up the mountaing ......and then down the mountain


Advertisement
Published: October 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Icy RoadsIcy RoadsIcy Roads

The road started having ice in shady spots. Guess I will have to try it another time...in summer.
Oct 28 Friday
Morning - The plan today is to fill up my gas tank and take my bag of food, compass, and water with me just in case and take the gold camp road through the mountains. These will be some small and circuitous mountain roads so there is a chance I will get turned around for a bit or even decide to camp out overnight if I get a good view and it takes too long and it is not too cold. I will be taking the gold camp road which is the same route the miners took from Colorado Springs to Cripple Creek. I wanted to get on the road by 1100 so I guess I had better get moving.
Evening:
Started on the Old Stage Coach Road intending to take it till it connected with the Old Gold Camp road further up the mountain and over to Cripple Creek but ran into some Ice on the roads in shady spots so decided I will take that drive some other time. There is a difference between being brave and being stupid !



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

This part looked OK but....This part looked OK but....
This part looked OK but....

This part looked OK but I figured if I already ran into ice it would only get worse.
private driveprivate drive
private drive

I don't think I would want to live somewhere I had to use a driveway like this in winter.


Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0217s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb