Day 3 - Kansas City, MO to Colorado Springs, CO


Advertisement
Published: May 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Kansas - beforeKansas - beforeKansas - before

See? It's all green and pretty. A few hills and trees to keep things interesting.
The big question of Day 3 - will a butter rum muffin make me fail a breathalyzer?

I figured no, enjoyed the tasty treat, said my goodbyes and headed on to what I expected to be one of the top 3 most boring drives of the trip - Kansas. I really hope it's in the top 3, b/c I don't think I can handle more than 3 of these!!

It didn't start out too bad. Actually, it reminded me a bit of the southern English countryside, except way more expansive. A lot of green, rolling hills with the occasional scattered rocks.

Then I drove into a bit of a storm.

After the storm I realized I wasn't in Kansas anymore. Well, I was...but not the version I had been in before! It got all flat and brown. My one source of amusement was the fact that I was approaching a town called Ellis. Unfortunately, I passed it with about 2 hours of Kansas driving left to endure.

Somehow, I survived the boredom and made my arrival in Co. Springs in less than the anticipated time. That left me a little extra time to do things, for
Kansas RainKansas RainKansas Rain

It's almost as if the storm was a tunnel to an entirely different Kansas. You can even see the proverbial "light" in the form of the approaching blue sky.
instance eating, before heading down to Pueblo for a play.

Oh the play.

A friend of mine is an art teacher and did the costumes for this play put on through an after school program. Really, that should have been the first warning sign, but she was so excited that I was getting into town in time to see the play. I had to see the play. I arrived just in time to see a bunch of middle schoolers taking a crack at a musical version of Scheherazade.

It was obvious that the kids were really into it and had put in a ton of effort. But, in the end, I had sat through a wonderfully costumed personal hell. The things I do for my friends!

Unfortunately, I didn't get to actually visit too long with my friend, as I had to drive back to Co. Springs that night and be up early for white water rafting. That's a perfect segue into Day 4, so stay tuned!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Kansas - afterKansas - after
Kansas - after

Unfortunately, the "light at the end of the tunnel" shined down on a very dull landscape.
Ellis, KansasEllis, Kansas
Ellis, Kansas

My one source of amusement - the signs leading up to Ellis, KS. FYI, it seems that the Ellis Chamber of Commerce is rather active, in terms of roadside advertising.


Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0292s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb