Thursday


Advertisement
Published: October 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello, Everyone --

Well, the weather was much warmer today, so canvassing was the name of the game. I finished up yesterday's route, and surprise-surprise -- I had a meaningful discussion with a McCain supporter who did not run me off his porch. He stepped out and we chatted, so much in fact, that I went back to headquarters to get some Obama on Veterans literature and dropped it off later.

I also talked to an Iraqi soldier who is headed back next week. He told me he's not planning to vote at all. He was so polite and friendly, really a great guy.

The afternoon took me to an area that is predominantly Obama supporters. Like my other experiences in canvassing, people smile and want to talk about why they are voting for Obama.

Overall, I had only one or two negative experiences in canvassing today. After three days of this, I'm kind of glad to be done with it. My heart races every single time I step onto a porch and knock. I wish everyone would just put up a sign like I did so you can tell from the outside who they're voting for. It would make things so much easier.

My reader Tanya asked some good questions about canvassing. I'll answer them at another time, as it's pretty late right now! My host-sister, Jenny, and I went out for dinner and music tonight. The Broadmoor Hotel is THE place to be in Colorado Springs. Outstanding!

Tomorrow I head for Santa Fe for the R&R portion of the trip. We hope to either go to Garden of the Gods or Pike's Peak before I leave.

Cheers to all, and thanks for reading. Hope you are well,
W.

Advertisement



24th October 2008

Wow
Finally got caught up with all the blogs. Thank you and God bless you. You can make a difference. Roz

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0318s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb