2 months away


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Castle Rock
April 23rd 2013
Published: June 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 39.3759, -104.86

Well, it's within sight. We leave on June 26 (though I took my sweet time booking those, doing it just last week), and come back July 23.

I did manage to get a campervan booked (turns out, I maybe didn't need to worry quite so much, as I had a company follow up with me about a month ago, wondering if I still needed a vehicle), and managed to find a place to stay in Porto-Vecchio that wouldn't completely drain the bank account.

Back to the campervan.

When I thought things were sold out, it was more likely throwing me error messages because I was trying to do one-way rentals where they're not allowed. After e-mailing a couple of companies, I settled on picking up & dropping off in Lyon. It's a little off-course to go from Nice (or rather, Toulon, where the ferry from Corsica will drop us) to Lyon and then back down, but it works pretty well for dropping off at the other end of things.

Now, the hotel in Porto-Vecchio....

We had this bright idea of staying overnight in the start city, the night before the start, then seeing the boys off when the whole thing kicks off on June 29th.

Apparently, it's not just us and the 190 or so riders who need accommodations the night before. They seem to have staff, and this race thing brings along media, organizers, security, etc etc etc. And they all want a place to lay their heads.

So, after literally months of searching, comparing, inquiring, re-comparing, re-inquiring, researching, more searching......I happened upon a place that's fairly affordable. The reviews are "meh" at best, but as long as I'm prepared for mediocrity, I can deal, for one night.

So, the sleepless nights over the planning have stopped for now -- I expect the next one will be June 25 (if not a couple of nights prior, too). I'll be taking the laptop with us, and I'll try to blog our adventures as we go along.
That is, presuming my Cute Blonde Boy has arranged wi-fi (as he was assigned). Oh, man, is that something else I need to worry about???


Advertisement



Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb