Home on the Range


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Boulder
September 21st 2008
Published: September 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Who says that you have to be in Europe to write a travel blog? I figured that this was a really great way to keep in touch with everyone there, so why wouldn't I keep in touch while in the US?

I apologize for this not coming on a Wednesday, but I've actually found myself really busy this week. For one, I had two tasks to get to immediately: get a job and enroll in classes. My parents' condition for me living here is that I go back to school and get my educator's license. This is not a negative condition for me at all because I feel like this will be a positive step or springboard no matter what direction my life takes me in. More and more I am reconsidering a job in teaching - I've spoken with many of Mom's colleagues and all of them have told me that teaching is a good gig, great job, etc. This is new for me because, even if they've been joking, past professionals that I've spoken to have prodded me saying, "oh no! get out while you still can!" --- namely law, diplomacy and the non-profit sector. So anyway, that all goes back to me saying that I am not closing any doors.

Within three days of me being back in the States, I had a job. It's really not too difficult for me to land a job in lifeguarding considering my extensive history in it... but it was actually kind of flattering and seemed a little too ugga-bugga for me when I walked into their office and offered me a job on the spot -- but not just any job, a head guard position. In other words, these folks made me the manager of their pool before they'd even really met me or before they'd showed me around the pool a bit haha. But, hey - I am NOT complaining. The pay's good and I'm back in the water again - it's really exciting!

Meanwhile, Dad and I have been making "quests" to different schools in the good old admissions process. It's a bit odd to be on the other side of this hunt, but at least I know all the right questions to ask. Regardless, it looks like I'll be going to Metro State College of Denver for the license. They come highly regarded in the field, the location is relatively convenient, and they have an alternative licensure program that sounds a little bit like co-op.

All in all, this has been a very positive transition. Despite my parents' kind offers and extensions telling me that there's no limit to how long I can stay there... I'm still keeping my goal set on or around my birthday as the time when I move out. That'll also be, therefore, right around the first of the year. Hopefully by then I'll have a clearer idea of what's going on, I'll have paid off the credit card balance and I'll be starting classes. Works for me.

I don't think that there's a whole lot else to report on. So, that is life for now! If it seems like there's more to report on, I'll update you again next week.

Hope all is well with everyone!

Advertisement



21st September 2008

So where's the pics?
Colorado blue sky, bright yellow leaves, the warm, golden days on the high plateau.... It doesn't get better than this. Gma

Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0713s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb