Farewell, Austria


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Lower Austria
September 15th 2008
Published: September 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, my friends - this is the unexpected end of my blog from Europe.

After my conversation with Karin last week, it was announced by Gerald on Saturday that they had already rented out my downstairs apartment to someone who would be moving in October 1. While this was quick and surprising, it was not entirely unwelcome, nor entirely shocking. I saw something like this coming and believe to the fullest that it is for the best.

I survived a weekend of cleaning and packing and have just gotten off the phone with my travel agent who got me on the first flight out tomorrow - 6:35am, in fact. So, it would seem that I will be spending the night at the airport... which may actually be more comfortable than the couch that I have been sleeping on this past month... we shall see.

While I am sad that things have ended so unhappily with Karin and Gerald, I have enjoyed my stay here and am certainly glad for the experience. I am not disappointed in the least to be going home as this is the obvious next adventure for me. Yes, I'll be moving in with dear old mom and dad in Colorado, but it means an opportunity to go back to school and get kicking on those higher degrees that I've so wanted... and maybe even make a few bucks in the meantime.

Because of the awkwardness of the situation here at home, I will need to make use of my learned diplomacy to see about getting a ride to the airport. Should this be unsuccessful, there are taxis and trains that could get me there... I'm just uncertain about costs at this point. Nevertheless - it might be necessary.

So, from here, I have a bit more packing and cleaning to do and then a few hours to settle up and figure out how to get to Vienna Airport. To those of you in Denver, I will see you soon -- to those of you who are not in Denver, feel free to begin calling me again come 4:00pm MDT (6pm EST)

So long for now.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0612s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb