The Passport debacle


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Aurora
July 12th 2011
Published: July 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

As I posted elsewhere. The rant regarding my passport problems:

Basically, since my dad delivered me in a shed, there are no doctor's records, hospital records, pre-natal records, blah, blah, blah.. _so_ they wanted baptismal or circumcision records, which also (both) don't exist, oh, and the reason all this was requested is because my mom (bless her heart) and father didn't want me to get drafted into Vietnam (this was the end of 1974, when Vietnam was, basically, over, or at least probably didn't look like it was going to go on for 18 more years), so they (parents) didn't bother to get me a birth certificate until when I was around 2 or so.. which the State Dept (i.e. passport office) finds rather fishy - they told me that I had "provided them no proof I am a citizen". It was only after demanding a supervisor and giving him the name and every detail of every family member I could think of, then filling out a hand-written, page-long "explanation of the circumstances surrounding my birth" and him doing checks on all my relatives that they decided I probably wasn't born in Mexico or something, and am "probably" a citizen. At that point they took my 200-plus dollars and promised they would mail me a passport "sometime next week". So, we'll see....

(oh, and mom, if you read this, I do know you were just doing what you thought was right at the time, I was just ranting. Love you!)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb