Old Sugar Mill...a tasting we shall go!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California
February 19th 2012
Published: February 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Good Morning Bloggers!

So yesterday was another gorgeous winter day in Sacramento. With nothing better to do other than making our way to H Street for crepes at Crepe Escapes, we decided to get on the road and make our way down to the Freeport/Clarksburg area to check out the Old Sugar Mill Wineries.

I had read an article last year about a wine and chocolate event held at a place called "The Old Sugar Mill" - now the location name was enough to get my curiousity up to explore and research but now throw some wine and chocolate into the mix and I was intrigued.

Now I'm not a big wine lover or "winophile" as I dub those who seem to never get enough of the bottled stuff. But I do appreciate a nice glass of port every now and then. What I really love about the wineries is really just the beautiful scenery that surrounds those large rustic barrels. I love the rolling hills and the acres of grapevines scattered throughout the hills. A good reason to get one's "sip-on"... yeah, those views rock!

So back to The Old Sugar Mill, right? Ok, in a quick summary: Very Charming, Very Fun, Very Scenic, Very much worth the short drive to Clarksburg...Very decent wines, etc.

They took an OLD OLD Sugar Mill, revamped it, and put about 6 (?) different wineries inside it. The tastings are $5 a pop or free IF you purchase a bottle of whatever vino floats your boat. The grounds are open and people were just strolling around the old mill with their dogs or kids in some cases. I can imagine that in the Summertime, it can be pretty to sit out on the grass and enjoy the wines and music.

So my favorite tasting was at the Clarksburg Winery. Their Port 2010 and Chenin Blanc made my list. I did not get to try all the tasting rooms so I will be back to enjoy this place again. Also, there are other wineries in the area too that are on my "to sip" list.

I posted a few pics of the grounds .... Freeport/Clarkburg is a very small Delta town. The river runs through it and as we drove by the river, we saw many boats out on the water and fishing poles everywhere we looked. I have only seen this area via the delta, so to drive through gave it me a different perspective.

So come out to the Old Sugar Mill and sip to your heart's content.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0322s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb