Day 10


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California
September 29th 2009
Published: September 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today was another hard day. With lots of big climbs and some scary descents. I was on the road early today, by about 8.30 and was flying for the first two hours or so which was great. I started down through a forest then out along the shore, looking out to an island before heading inland up a valley, where I met and rode with a really nice old guy, where the first of the ascents were found. Then it was back to the coast, following it for the rest of the day with absolutely stunning views, the pictures just don't do it justice.
At one stage I was climbing hairpin bends, then descending more followed just round the corner by an equally steep hill. My legs are defiantly glad of a rest tonight. But they'll be all ready to go just as hard tomorrow.
Once again today was hot, hot, hot and I was struggling to drink enough. I think I've drank about 5 or 6 liters of water today since I got on the road, it’s a battle to keep hydrated when the sun gets fierce. I also can't seem to eat enough, and am constantly hungry. Today I had 3 muesli bars for breakfast, then two before lunch with a good two handfuls of blackberries that I found by the side of the road, then I had 3 cheese and mustard sandwiches followed by another muesli bar, then half a big pack of peanuts and a huge pot of rice for dinner. Who knew you had to eat so much just to cycle!
Also a monumental point in my journey was reached today when I passed the first 1000km mark (wow that’s a lot of zero's).
Tonight's campsite is great, possibly the best yet, I'm in a forest clearing surrounded by wilderness, its just like free camping but with toilets. There's also warnings about raccoons eating food and breaking into places where they can smell goodies, so all mine are locked away safe…no midnight snacks for me tonight!
I've included some pics of my food locker for you all to see. If the food isn't in there then the raccoons come looking for it, and stop at nothing to get it...or so i've heard. So EVERYTHING that smells of food goes in this locker, even toothpaste to be safe! fun times.

Ok so today's stats:

Ride time - 5:31:55
Average speed - 20.3km/h
Max speed - 67km/h
Distance - 112.59km
Trip distance - 1023.82km whoop whoop

Aly x



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.163s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb