Day 11


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Fort Bragg
September 29th 2009
Published: September 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today felt like it started really slowly, but the first time I looked at my speedometer I had already come 20km, sweet!
My first stop was at a small town called Anchor Bay. I managed to find a small store to buy some bread for lunch and some chilli beans for dinner. Then I was off on the road again and by lunch had covered over 60km. What a morning. The afternoon was a slightly different story. As I sat under a tree and ate my sandwiches a strong onshore wind decided to develop which meant riding with a headwind for most of the afternoon which made my whole afternoon uphill, I was even struggling to get over 20km/h on some of the downhill sections.
The up hills kept coming, I'm getting pretty good at climbing with a fully loaded bike now. I did have a scary moment tho as a logging truck with two trailers zoomed past on one section of switchbacks.
However, the wind did seem to ease off this afternoon and I made my campsite in good time and ate my chilli on the beach watching the sun go down which was great.
Tomorrow is going to be a short day I think, with a 20km ride to Fort Bragg where I'm going to spend most of the day before a short ride to the next campsite. I'm going to rest there because after that there is a 2 or 3 day mountain section which could get gnarly! So today's stats where:


Ride time - 5:42:43
Average speed - 19.2km/h
Max speed - 62km/h
Distance - 109.53km
Trio distance - 1133.36km

Aly x



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



29th September 2009

Well done
Well done Aly. Its a very stout effort and we are reading your blog with interest. Best Wishes Chris
29th September 2009

Doing well
Hi Aly Gosh you are doing very well Hope you are enjoying the trip sounds as if you are

Tot: 0.183s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0666s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb