Packing, Currency Exchange, etc.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California
August 8th 2009
Published: August 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hallo und willkommen!

On the days prior to my journey, I had to pack not only that which I would take but also that which I could not possibly take. Books, games, CDs, and other miscellaneous items were tucked into boxes for storage. Clothing which I had not worn in a year or longer were given away to charity or were tossed if terribly damaged. I packed more clothing than I probably require, a first aid kit, some hygiene supplies, a couple books, and other such things as what people would normally bring.

I also packed things which I recommend other students pack, but realize most people forget to bring: A System Recovery CD for the computer, bank policy forms and phone numbers, insurance information, passport photocopies, and instruction manuals for the electronic devices I brought. Some of this just makes sense, but others might question why I'd bother bringing a system recovery CD (I have a laptop) or instruction manuals. Honestly, the latter might be ignored if you know your device well, but I don't know too much about my camera just yet, so I figured bringing the manual would be a good idea, especially if I wanted to get fancy. The system recovery CD, along with other software CDs and System Driver CDs, are a good idea for the student planning on studying in another country for a year. If your laptop crashed during that time and you need to bring it back to life, but have no means of doing so, then you are in quite a bad situation indeed. I didn't want to run that risk, so I thought I'd bring it along with me just in case. It's small enough to slip into a notebook folder, too!

Before leaving for your journey, you will want to exchange your currency to that of the place you will be. If you have a layover in another country then you may wish to have a little cash in that currency, as well. If you do not make these exchanges prior to departing then you will face rather unfavorable exchange rates with a hefty commission. It is always better to exchange prior to leaving. Your best option is to inform your bank of this need about two weeks before you leave. Otherwise, try to find a business which is capable of exchanging into the currency you require. Keep an eye on market trends, though! Exchange when your currency is strong, if at all possible -- as though we can time these market dips, eh?

Oh, one more thing! Bring an umbrella. When I arrived it was raining but, thankfully, I endeared myself to a German couple. They gave me an umbrella, but that was really just a lucky break.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb