Disney and then some


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California
May 31st 2005
Published: August 5th 2005
Edit Blog Post

CaseyCaseyCasey

CUTIE huh? Yeah, he is two--I must have been crazy!

May 2005


Upon my return with the boys I spent one day in Santa Barbara. My friend Kerry Lee asked if I could give her a hand and work a wedding in Santa Barbara. It was fun to be that kind of busy, but I don’t really miss “work” all that much!

Next on the list was quality time with the kids closer to home. What I mean is as part of my “search for balance program” I wanted to spend time with the kids (Taylor & Casey and Maximus & Odessa). So, my first opportunity was to spend the weekend taking care of Taylor (5 yrs) and Casey (2 yrs) by myself!! Tim and Christina had a nice quiet romantic weekend away from home planned.

Well, it was a long weekend, and I am pretty sure the kids thought so too. This child rearing skill set, I am not so sure I possess. But we had lots of fun, rode bikes in the yard, pretend to ride quads, read books and watched cartoons. Not to mention all the extra sugar treats I (as Auntie Cara) got to dole out. I think everyone walked away happy! Tim and Christina
Buzz Lightyear RideBuzz Lightyear RideBuzz Lightyear Ride

Dominica and I on "the ride" Did I mention my....High score!
seemed to have fun too.

ROAD TRIP


Felicia and I headed to Seal Beach to again meet up with her sister Dominica and Lindsay for girls’ weekend at Disneyland. We started the weekend with manicures and pedicures-you know to get pretty. Then an early start on Saturday to get in a full day at Disney. I LOVE Disneyland and we had one hell of a system. We hit all the good stuff and did it well. I must confess the all time highlight was not what I expected (traditionally Pirates of the Caribbean is my favorite). This year however, Disney has a new ride. It is a kids ride, like most in the land, but The Buzzlight year ride ROCKs. I do believe it is my new favorite. It goes a little like this…. it is a ride so you step on, unhook your laser gun, and as the ride goes along you shoot the crap out of everything in Buzz’s world. The ride keeps track of your points. They take pictures during the ride and you can then e-mail them to yourself at the end of the ride. It is the coolest! And that is not just because
Relaxin on the LakeRelaxin on the LakeRelaxin on the Lake

Yup, this is "how we do" now.
I was the overall champion with 155,000 points. (Did I mention we rode it 4 times?) I swear it alone is worth the price of admission!


Memorial Weekend


For Memorial weekend, Felicia and I trekked up to San Antonio Lake for a quick overnight with my brother who was camping for week. It was really just a check in with Edward, an afternoon sitting in the sun and a sunset boat cruise.

We left before the weekend even got started so that we could meet up with Brittany, Kyle, Dave and Dominica for the Beer Festival in Avila Beach. Kat (who works for New Belgium Brewery) asked us to come and support Fat Tire. So of course we obliged. Felic and I ended up pouring beer most of the afternoon, but it was a beautiful day and nice to kick it with good friends.

JUNE 2005 To come soon…



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

'OH FAT TIRE'OH FAT TIRE
'OH FAT TIRE

Kyle, Brittany and I sippin' the brew at the Beer Festival


20th June 2005

Jealous Friend
"ROCK ON"!!!
26th June 2005

OH BOY, ARE WE HAVING FUN!!!
Cara, Your Dad and I are happy that you have this opportunity to enjoy life. Looks like you have figured it out! Love Mom and Dad
17th November 2005

Sooooooo Jealous
You are doing "it" (life) the way it should be done - being true to yourself. Thanks for the update and "keep-on keepin-on". Oh, talked to The Clayton of Love a few weeks ago - good treat. XO Barbara

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb