Awesome Yosemite Park !!!


Advertisement
Published: June 23rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 37.8772, -119.727

Today we started very early, I was at the lobby at 4.40 am for the free coffee to eat with my rolls/cake as there was no kettle or hot water facility in the hotel room. I also needed the wifi to book seat for my flight to New Zealand. I was pleased that I managed to get a window seat for my flight. Then we were off to Yosemite Park.

I was at the back of the bus again with 3 free seats, perfect for me to rest or sleep. As we approached the Park, the landscape was very scenic with trees and rocks. It is stunning here and I just love the nature.

Yosemite Park

Yosemite Park is area of outstanding beauty and great wilderness. The park boosts spectacular granite cliffs, plunging waterfalls, clear streams, Giant Sequoia groves and hundreds of wildlife species.


Yosemite is one of the largest and least fragmented habitat blocks in the Sierra Nevada and the park supports a diversity of plants and animals. The geology of the Yosemite area is characterized by granitic rocks and remnants of older rock. About 10 million years ago, the Sierra Nevada was uplifted and then tilted to form its relatively gentle western slopes and the more dramatic eastern slopes. The uplift increased the steepness of stream and river beds, resulting in formation of deep, narrow canyons. About 1 million years ago, snow and ice accumulated, forming glaciers at the higher alpine meadows that moved down the river valleys. Ice thickness in Yosemite Valley may have reached 4,000 feet (1,200 m) during the early glacial episode. The down slope movement of the ice masses cut and sculpted the U-shaped valley.

El Capitan

The largest granite monolith in the world, El Capitan is located across from Bridal veil Falls in Yosemite National Park. It juts up about 3,000 feet from the ground, and is a favourite of experienced rock climbers. This is Beautiful part of the valley with incredible scenery and we saw it together with Bridal Veil Falls

Bridal Veil Falls

Located in the Yosemite Valley California's Yosemite National Park, Bridal Veil Falls are one of the park's most famous sites. Millions of people every year come to see the 617-foot-high waterfall, which flows year-round. We only viewed these falls from the base but It was very impressive and we were able to take pictures.

The Half Dome

The Half Dome is one of the most recognizable formations in California's Yosemite National Park. It is known the world over as a challenging and rewarding hiking and mountain climbing location, attracting thousands of adventurers every year. The half dome hike is just amazing and we saw it from different viewpoints.


Yosemite Falls

This is the fifth tallest waterfall in the world; Yosemite Falls is the centrepiece of Yosemite National Park, with spectacular lush greenery, Towering Mountains and gushing waterfalls. The walk to lower Yosemite falls is flat with small incline passing gigantic trees. Snow had melted so there was strong flow of water. Some of the youngsters in tour walked up the boulders to dip their feet in water. I spend some time sitting on the boulder with this amazing scenery hearing the gushing of the waterfalls which was music to my ear... With sadness I walked back to the bus, on the way back there are public bathrooms.



Tunnel View

One of Yosemite National Park's most popular outlooks, the Tunnel View near the Wawona Tunnel is often the first look at some of the famous formations visitors get. The site was renovated and re-dedicated
in October of 2008.

As soon as we passed the tunnel we were immediately greeted with spectacular view of towering granite formations and deep forests just as the sun was peaking over the mountain. This is the view of the valley with El Capitan, Half Dome and Bridal Veil Falls. It was breath-taking. We had some time here for photo shoots, though pictures do not do justice to the actual scenery. Yosemite Park was my favourite place and I would like to visit Yosemite Park again.

We stopped at Chinese buffet for lunch and I opted for Taco Bell. I had delicious Mexican Pizza and then we were off on our way to LA. I rested and even managed to get some sleep. We reached LA around 7 pm and our tour guide had arranged more transport for different areas groups to save time.
I was with the LAX airport group and the shuttle driver took us for a small tour giving us good commentary on the way there. It was good to see downtown LA at night. At Lax airport I said good bye to my friends and I went to arrivals. Lucky for me that the Custom hotel shuttle was waiting there. I had a quick check in and I picked up my suitcase from storage. My room was lovely with great view of the airport. Custom hotel is really great boutique hotel with lovely staff, nice clean rooms and the free shuttle to airport. I was happy with my choice of this hotel.

Summary of the Tour

The main reason I took the tour was that I had v little time to plan the Californian leg of my holiday so I was really pleased that I took the 3 day tour otherwise I would have never been able to see so many places in a very short time. At least this part of my trip I did not have to do much planning and I was able to see the overview of the places so I know which places, I would visit again. Tour cost was very reasonable even after paying single supplement, SF sightseeing, cruise and tips, the guide was lovely, the people were friendly and the tour hotel was just ok. Yes the journeys on the highway can be tedious but everyone were sleeping or resting during the journey after early starts in the morning.

On the whole I do prefer tailor made holidays for longer trips as you are able to do what you like, when you like, stay in hotels of your choice and spend more time in places of your interests. So from now onwards my holiday is tailor-made apart from few one day tours. I am doing one day tour in LA tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



Tot: 0.183s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0638s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb