cherry coke, Yosemite, and snow drifts


Advertisement
Published: December 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We survived the "nasty" of what was Portland. Over 30 hours of straight rain and one day of sunshine, I can't say that I fell in love with Oregon. The locals said the weeks weather was rare, but somehow I just couldn't believe them. I will have to go back when I have more sunshine and no broken car window to fix.


The drive down from Portland was full of more rain- only breaking when we traveled across the border into California. We crashed in Oakland for three days to finish up some business (Tori Amos concerts), and decided to head over to Yosemite National Park to soak in some gorgeous views of mountain and snow. On the way to Yosemite we stopped at a great cafe called 50's Road House Restaurant. I was welcomed by a card board Elvis, a great waitress, and a few James Dean pictures on the wall. A damn good cherry coke and a grilled ham & cheese later, we jumped back on the road and drove through some wonderful small towns. I wish I could have went back to stay a few days.

When I arrived at Yosemite I was absolutely inspired. Unfortunately, because of the season and the snow, many of the roads were closed and I did not purchase chains for my tires to access other areas. Even though the waterfalls were frozen silent, it did not take away from those beautiful massive granite mountains.

As we headed south towards Death Valley, the sun was setting and the snow was drifting back into the valley.




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



11th December 2007

Beautiful!!
That is one of the places I've always wanted to travel to. It looks beautiful, wish i there. I wish I was here, lol. Have some more fun on my behalf!! Poor Talula looks depressed, lol. Or is that her normal personality?

Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0166s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb