Ten "New" Travel Trends for 2018


Advertisement
Published: December 29th 2017
Edit Blog Post

According to many travel "experts" and writers, these are the new travel trends for 2018. Some of these are familiar, if you follow what I do and where I go. Let's see if there is anything interesting.

• Solo travel-hello! I think I invented solo travel. Who else would take the Trans Siberian Railway across Russia solo?
• Multi generational travel-I never traveled much with my Mom, except for local trips. But my kids really enjoyed having grandma along, especially my daughter.
• Double destinations-again, I hate to tell you, maximize that 10-12 hour trans-ocean flight and see the world. My last trip to eastern Europe covered five countries, and easily could have included more!!!
• Glamping-though I am not a big fan, I did this on the Serengeti in Tanzania. It was quite comfortable, and also quite expensive. The food was great, the showers very short, and the beer was cold!
• Heritage travel-yes, I have followed my grandparents footsteps as best I can. I have visited their hometown, Nagoya, Japan. And I have been to the Relocation camps where they were incarcerated during WW2. It is not always easy to understand, but worthwhile.
• National Parks-I love our national parks. If you are 62 or more, make sure you buy the lifetime pass. My favorites are the Grand Canyon, Bryce Canyon, and Jellystone.
• Train travel-again, I have traveled by train on every continent, and enjoyed it immensely. I highly recommend this mode of travel. I have another one planned next month! If I could afford it, I would take the Orient Express.
• Booking online-how long have we been doing this? But it sure helps to be pointed in the right direction by people who know, either previous visitors, or a trusted travel pro, like Ric Browde.
• Adventure travel-defined differently by each of us, whether an African safari, or a trek through the Amazon. I think my most adventurous trip was driving Chile from top to bottom!!!
• Wine destinations-great idea, but I try to combine them with something else, like Mendoza on our Chilean drive, or Champagne because I love champagne!




If you asked me where you should go in 2018, I don't have any magic answers. But I do like the idea of following your heritage, no matter where it would be. I am strongly biased toward travel in Asia and South America, though I have been to Europe the last three years. I am also a big supporter and believer in our National Parks. You had better go before Orange Man ruins them!!! Some good news:

The world’s major coral reefs suffered back-to-back global bleaching events over the last three years, as warmer-than-usual sea temperatures caused entire sections of reef to turn bone-white, especially in Australia’s Great Barrier Reef, for which a premature eulogy was written in the process. In June, though, the NOAA’s Coral Reef Watch announced that the worst of the bleaching event had concluded. Now, of course, it’s up to us to prevent another bleaching event, which could prove catastrophic for the planet's reefs.

Can you believe Austria is the most tourist friendly country in the world??

Best airport Wi-Fi? Denver International with 61.74 Mbps. And they have a pretty decent French bistro in Terminal B according to Dr. W.

You might ask, where am I headed in 2018? How about somewhere different, maybe Indonesia, the Philippines, or Sri Lanka? Or maybe I should use one of the last visas issued to an American for travel to Turkey? Let me know your 2018 travel plans.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0496s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb