Yosemite 2010


Advertisement
Published: April 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Yosemite Camp 2010Yosemite Camp 2010Yosemite Camp 2010

Our humble abode for a few days...
Last summer my family, a friend, and I traveled to Yosemite Valley. We stayed at the Coursegold KOA just south of the valley. We "roughed" it with our tents and campfires. We had a wonderful time. (I will post photos within the next few days.)

Though the ground was hard, and my self-inflating airmatress was as useful as the straw under the tent, we all seemed to sleep rather well. That is probably due to the hiking we did up the granite mountainside then the crawling around on the rocks below Yosemite Falls. OOOOHHHH that water was cold, painfully cold. But, what a treat on a hot summer's day. We learned that it was easier to climb barefooted, but my mother's voice frequented my mind-Safety First! Very true, but we climbed barefooted anyway. Thankfully the only injuries we endured were foot scrapes and stubbed toes. Oh, but let's not forget the bruised shins, knees, and palms. Some of those rocks were more difficult to climb than others. Slipping from the rocks into the freezing water was shocking at first. Then, it became a test of will to see if we could make it out of the water without turning blue.
Yosemite Camp 2010Yosemite Camp 2010Yosemite Camp 2010

Our humble abode for a few days...
The challenge was invigorating. Since that adventure, we've learned belaying and will try that next time. We will be prepared for the cool water, as well.

The following day, we saw the giant sequoias. My son took some delightful pictures of the flora and fauna. We hiked throughout the forest and enjoyed our campfire in the evening where my husband played his guitar, played cards, through silly string, and we shared funny stories. It was extremely hilarious when my son heard sounds behind our tents. He thought it was a moose, "Ummmm, okay." It turned out to be a cow! How he missed that, I will never know, but it made for one of those family jokes that lasts the duration of a family holiday. Well, that one and the part where father says, "Watch out for the trailer hitch." The next sound we heard was, "Ohhhhhhhhhhh!" Same son. Poor guy. He had a rough time while the rest of us were overwhelmed with entertainment as he walked away with a "severe" limp. It wasn't too bad. He has a great sense of humor and made sure he got the best of us with his silly string. It helped that we each had our moments of foolishness.

Well, I think this will be it for the moment. When I upload our pictures, I will have more to add. I will include other travels we've had since and those coming up. Our future holds Las Vegas, New Orleans, and Orlando.

I attempted to upload pictures and learned that when a picture is a bitmap, I am unable to do so. I would not be surprised if the reason is operator error; therefore, any suggestions are welcomed.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb