Paris au printemps


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Sebastopol
March 29th 2011
Published: March 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

It's a star spangled banner kind of day today. The rain has finally let go of his grasp, making way for sunny skies and buoyant melodies. I like the idea of traveling....but it would be so much easier if I could do it from the seat of my favorite arm chair. I dream of wandering the streets of Paris...inhaling freshly baked croissant and deeply roasted french espresso, served up in tiny porcelain cups. I envision a medley of multicolored fruits and veggies. Displayed resplendently, like perfect jewels, at an open air market adorning the Champs-Elysées. I am captivated by the foreigness of it all. The French culture is one of the most civilized and beautiful in the world. I can see myself picking up and moving there in a heartbeat. However, I am the armchair traveler....fantasizing my way through the French countryside. Picturing myself perched cafe side with journal in hand, Demi-bouteille (half bottle) of Château Mont-Redon 2003, AOC Châteauneuf-du-Pape and an amuse-bouches or two. It doesn't get much better than this. Viva La France!

Advertisement



31st March 2011

Burn the chair
Hi, I like your writing. What would it take for you to live these fantasies? A couple of years ago I was living "the life" in LA and it all went pear shaped. I reduced my life to backpack and took off to Asia for a year ,mainly touring Thailand and Cambodia, but also I visited Malaysia for a short trip. I had the absolute time of my life getting lost all over, meeting people from around the globe, seeing things I could have never imagined etc. I guess circumstances could prevent you from actually being a real traveler, but probably no matter what they are, there is someone with tougher circumstances that is doing or has done it. The journey opened my mind up to a world of possibility and set me on a new, much more exciting life course. I don't want suggest that there is anything wrong with doing what you are doing, in fact I quite enjoyed your writing, but thought... hey this chick could make a living writing and traveling and maybe she doesn't even know that! Cheers, Rob www.bondibuddha.com
7th April 2011

Thank you Mr. Bondibuddha..... Sometimes you just gotta get out of your comfort zone and take that first step into the big world out there. Sounds like you follow your heart and live an amazing life. Good for you! I hope to muster up enough courage to take that first step myself one of these days soon. I appreciate your words of encouragement. Fare thee well. Raincoastgirl

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb