Central Coast


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Santa Cruz
April 25th 2009
Published: April 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Pismo BeachPismo BeachPismo Beach

I met up with a couple of SOLO friends and had a great day. Marty (center) lives locally but Dottie is from Alberta. Pismo is known for clam chowder which I can attest is ecellent.
The pace of life is much more to my liking here. The scenery is beyond beautiful. I stayed in San Luis for a week then moved to San Jose for a week before going into a beautiful California State Park in Bodega Bay which is about 60 miles north of San Francisco. California is obviously very fertile and produces a huge portion of the fruits and vegetables for U.S. markets. I have driven through fields of strawberries, orange groves, avocado groves, fields of cabbages, broccoli, romaine lettuce, artichokes; which I have never seen growing before and of course mile after mile of grape vines. Wine drinkers will never go thirsty! ! I think I could have been sloshed for hundreds of miles if I had “sipped” at all the wineries that offer free tasting.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

CoastCoast
Coast

Is there anything more beautiful than waves crashing against a rockie shoreline?
Avila BeachAvila Beach
Avila Beach

I was actually staying close to this beach. Next time I come this way I will try to book a site right on the beach.
Mission St. Luis ObispoMission St. Luis Obispo
Mission St. Luis Obispo

This mission, oriinally buiilt in 1818 is still a full working Roman Catholic church. The bells are named after the first five missions of California. Diego, Carlos, Antonio,Gabriel and Luis
StrawberriesStrawberries
Strawberries

The fields around Santa Maria which is about 20 miles south of Saint Luis are full of strawberries. Buy from the stall right beside the field and 4 lbs. cost just $3. They were all around this size and delicious.
Santa CruzSanta Cruz
Santa Cruz

Is a really nice little place. The University of Califonia has a campus here so there are lots of students around.
Golden GateGolden Gate
Golden Gate

The trip from Santa Cruz to Bodega Bay took me right up the coast and over the Golden Gate Bridge. Unfortunately, the weather wasn't great but I want to come back to San Francisco sometime and will make a side trip to walk on the bridge then.


Tot: 0.195s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0926s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb