Los Angeles


Advertisement
Published: April 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Rododo BeachRododo BeachRododo Beach

Bev and I wanted to go for lunch by the beach, and this was about two miles away from where we were staying. These pelicans are gorging on anchovies
My next stopping place was San Luis Obispo, which is on what is known as the California Central Coast. What a beautiful part of the world—Los Angeles-not so much. Beverley had to come back for meetings so I met up with her for the evening in Torrance which is on the coast south of LA. Since I was there I decided to take a bus tour of Los Angeles. Well I have now been there, done that and didn’t bother buying a t-shirt! The Los Angeles traffic is the worst anywhere (except maybe London.) My trip started in Santa Monica. A young Croatian guy drove the bus and was very knowledgeable. Although downtown LA has a lot of beautiful buildings it is almost deserted, no pedestrians anywhere. Our guide told us that there are 16 million people living in the greater LA area, 55% of whom speak English as a second language.
I would've liked to go see the Queen Mary and visit the J. Paul Getty Museum so I guess one day I will come back--just not any time soon!



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

PelicanPelican
Pelican

This beauty even posed for me
Santa MonicaSanta Monica
Santa Monica

Santa Monica was really nice, the beaches were very clean. Lots of people doing their daily exercize. The beach volleyball pitches are just to the left of this.
Santa Monica PierSanta Monica Pier
Santa Monica Pier

Our guide seemed to think that we should've already know about he "famous" pier. It looked like a fun place to look around but we didn't have time
HollywoodHollywood
Hollywood

The famous sign--this is a close as a person can get
Walk of FameWalk of Fame
Walk of Fame

Quite impressive really
Familiar SceneFamiliar Scene
Familiar Scene

Hugh Jackman was here just the other day. I was more impressed with the hand and foot prints of Jimmy Stewart, Bob Hope and Peter Sellers than I was with any of the younger stars. As you can see Elvis even showed up for me!!
Beverly HillsBeverly Hills
Beverly Hills

This is Rodeo Drive where all the rich people shop
Side StreetSide Street
Side Street

This little side street just off Rodeo Drive is really pretty. No prices on any of the merchandise to be seen anywhere.
TemptationTemptation
Temptation

I was tempted by this bejewelled little number-but then I bought a new bathing suit a few weeks ago!!!
Adam Sandler's HomeAdam Sandler's Home
Adam Sandler's Home

This is the only view of the home Sandler purchased Goldie Hawn; he also purchased the Lot next door and demolished the house on it so that he could have a playhouse built for is kids.
Universal StudiosUniversal Studios
Universal Studios

My camera battery was exhausted after I took this picture
TrafficTraffic
Traffic

This was Saturday afternoon--six lanes of stop and go traffic and it's like this all the time.


Tot: 0.189s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 12; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0792s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb