PS Yummy Fish


Advertisement
Published: January 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well we just had to add a quick p.s after heading off to the Fishouse this evening; mainly because we felt our culinary critique of the USA has been somewhat lacking in recent days predominantly because we haven’t experienced any tongue tingling gastronomic worthy delights of late. However, this evening rectified this. We started with a shared starter of crab cakes with mixed coleslaw and tangy spicy dressing; extremely taste bud tingling. This was followed by Californian yellow tail (which can only be described as an unusual combination of mackerel & tuna) served with fresh mango, grilled asparagus and rosemary roast potatoes for me; and sea bass baked with a macadamia crust accompanied by a light garlic sauce, fluffy rice and crunchy sugar snap peas for Andy; washed down with a delightful bottle of Merlot called of all things McManis…which oddly reminded us both of childhood memories of the 70s ITV wrestling star Mick for those of you old enough to remember this ITV Saturday afternoon TV classic....

With hindsight it would have been great to have spent a bit longer here and less time in LA, but that’s life I guess.

Song for the night: I Am Kloot - Proof

Nina & Andy x0x0x


Advertisement



9th January 2008

Yummy Weird!
Your mention of the Merlot named McManus had the hairs standing up on the back of my neck! Mick McManus was my favourite wrestler and I only discovered years later that he was born on 11 January same as myself! (we share it with Arthur Scargill and Mary J. Blige Your dad (Nina's) took me to see live wrestling in Plymouth when you were a baby. I thought that it would be a good idea if I shouted abuse like they did on the telly but nearly got beaten up by some seriously-looking females who were not amused by me. Your dad couldn't wait to get out of the hall !
11th January 2008

Aha I'm not the only one to remember Mick Mc
Hi John - I think I'd stick to the Mary J Blige "shared" birthday if I were you! But having said that I do have numerous fond (if that's the right word) memories of watching the wrestling on Saturdays! I guess we're showing our age!! Keep reading love Nina x0x0

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0558s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb