Hardly Strictley...San Francisco


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Francisco
October 15th 2006
Published: October 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Last weekend we made it to San Francisco!! Out of the woods and into...diversity!?...culture!?...something different!! Its safe to say, I had a blast! I have to go back someday, when I have more time (and $$$!). We got a ride there with a friend of a friend. The trip from South Lake Tahoe to San Francisco should take 4 hours. It took us 8. Long story. Not worth getting into. We got there after dark. Adam and I had planned on staying with my friend Jimmy, and we had no problem finding his place. Thank GOD! It was good seeing Jimmy. He's all growed up! Aw! He lives in Haight Ashbury. Lots to see. We kept it simple. We went for pizza, then went to bed.
Saturday morning Adam, myself, Laurie and Darren walked to Golden Gate Park for the Hardly Strictly Bluegrass Festival. 2 days, 80 bands, 5 stages. All sorts of people were playing. Todd Snider, Hot Tuna, North Mississippi Allstars, Bob Weir, Elvis Costello, Emmy Lou Harris.....Lots of fun. Saturday night Adam and I went out with Jimmy. Then Sunday morning Jimmy showed us the city. We saw as much as we could before going back to the festival. I think we did pretty good. We saw the touristy things anyway. Next time, we see the real San Francisco. Hey, we did what we could with 5 hours of free time! We left after the festival ended sunday night. We drove to Lodi and stayed the night. For some strange reason, i couldn't get that Creedence song out of my head "...stuck in Lodi again.."(we had to stop in Lodi on our way to San Fran). We got back to before 5 on Monday.
I really like San Francisco, and can not wait to go back!!!!
We leave for Bishop at the end of the week. We'll be there for a few weeks. I guess theres good climbing to be had!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Hardly Strictly BluegrassHardly Strictly Bluegrass
Hardly Strictly Bluegrass

look over my shoulder.
san fransan fran
san fran

WIth Jimmy!!
San FranSan Fran
San Fran

China Town
San FranSan Fran
San Fran

China Town
San FranSan Fran
San Fran

Getting my daily workout in
San FranSan Fran
San Fran

the Bay bridge
San FranSan Fran
San Fran

the Golden Gate
San FranSan Fran
San Fran

Alcatraz
San FranSan Fran
San Fran

Lombard St.
San FranSan Fran
San Fran

Lombard St.


Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb