.....well I'm busy in San fran


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Francisco
October 11th 2011
Published: October 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hi readers

I have neglected you, my apologies, it is busy at times being on holidays.

Well where to start? OK so i got to SF last sat night and immediately got something to eat across the road from the hostel where i'm staying, on my return i run into some people i met in hollywood, there going out, so i joined them, not a big one but i slept well that night.

Next day i went to the NF'L game San Fran's 49ers against Tampa Bay Bucaneers. It had all the razzle, dazzle you would expect, air force flying over the ground was the highlight for me. The game failed to make an impression on me (like i knew it would-duh!) but as an event it was ok i guess. One thing i did notice about Americans, they are very patriotic. At half time during the game 10 or so new recruits were presented before the crowd and pledged their allegance to the US military joining the 'best fighting force in the world' we were told. I confess i couldn't watch a full game and left at 3/4 time. Just for the record the 49er's won 44-14 a scoreline no one predicted apparently.

That afternoon i took a stroll through chinatown, got a subway foot long for $5 and 2 lbs of bananas for $1.80. Food is cheaper here. That night just laid low for monday i had plans.

Yesterday, monday, myself and a young bloke I met in hollywood from Cairns walked around parts of san fran, Lombard street was a destination and walked down by us. This is the çrookedest street in the world' not in a criminal sense (see photo's) the weather was not the best, it was sprinkling all day actually, we walked down to Fisherman's wharf then into china town where we had a nice lunch for $8.00 which included tea, rice and soup. After this we went our seperate ways, I wanted to organise the next stage of my adventure.

I booked a 2 day tour of Yosemite National park, leaving Saturday morning, got a discount because it is the last tour of the year, happy bout that! Of course that meant extending my stay in San fran which i am happy about, there is so much i want to see and do here, ride over the Golden
SF 49 er's cupSF 49 er's cupSF 49 er's cup

Beer at the footy, American style.
Gate bridge, visit some national parks (including Alcatraz which i did today), visit Haight Ashbury (popular with the hippies in the 60's) and just explore this remarkable city in general.

I also bought a plane ticket to Las Vegas leaving Tuesday. From vegas I hope to either rent a car and see a few national parks or go on an organised tour of 'The Grand Canyon'.

Last night went out with a bunch of people from the hostel to Castro-the suburb which has quite a few gay clubs and pubs. It was a good night, everyone was friendly, the music pumped and the drinks were reasonably priced.

Today I caught the ferry to alcatraz. Only taking roughly 15 minutes from the mainland i explored the island (specifically the remnants of the old gaol) for about 3 hours including an audio tour of the infamous alcatraz gaol. Not a bad tour, on my return to san fran i walked in the general direction of the hostel.

I have enjoyed walking through the city thus far, my head turns left and right at the intersections, eyeing off possible attractions which wil take me towards them. I could never
ChinatownChinatownChinatown

Couldn't help it!
imagine a city's landscape would have that effect on me. The hills of this city give it depth to the eye and implores you to investigate.

Tommorrow i hope to ride across the golden gate, weather permitting and through the outer suburbs of the city.

That is all for now.
Love
Grant
Love


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

ChinatownChinatown
Chinatown

Now I know how to spell Grant with chinese letters
TramTram
Tram

Cool to ride!


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb